04.07.2016 – 29 African countries call on the EU to stop the slaughter of elephants

«Follow through on your commitments for a total ban on the ivory trade and support an African solution to an African problem!»

In 25 years there may not be a single elephant remaining in Africa if current rates of killing continue. As the EU member States meet on 4  July to discuss their position on whether to ban the ivory trade, a th delegation of the African Elephant Coalition (AEC), comprising 29 African countries, is calling urgently on the European Union and the European Commission to grasp a historic opportunity and follow through on their commitments to ban the ivory trade, while praising the EU for adopting the EU Action Plan against Wildlife Trafficking.

Elephants are experiencing catastrophic declines from poaching. From 2010 to 2012, at least 100,000 elephants were killed in Africa for their ivory, many of them in AEC countries. 

«The situation is alarming in most of our countries,» says Azizou El Hadj Issa, former Minister of Agriculture in Benin and President of the Council of Elders of the AEC. «Elephants are slaughtered every day, rangers are being killed and the trade is fueling terrorism which destabilizes the continent and has huge repercussions for EU security. We need the EU to support us and become part of the solution to this crisis. We, the Africans, have that solution and we call on the EU and its member States to throw their support behind our proposals.»

In Brussels last week, a delegation of the AEC met with several high level officials of the European Commission and of EU member States to seek support for their five-part package to put an end to the ivory trade and afford elephants the highest protection under international law.

The AEC is also calling on the EU to extend its commitment toward implementing the African Elephant Action Plan, adopted by all African elephant range states in 2010, by supporting the listing of all African  elephants in Appendix I as a way to enhance the unity of African nations with respect to elephants and elephant conservation.

The AEC’s package consists of five proposals to the 17th Conference of the Parties (CoP17) of CITES (the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora) from 24 September to 5 October in Johannesburg, South Africa.

One of the proposals seeks to unify all African elephant populations and their range States in one Appendix I listing. This would provide maximum protection to elephants and end the split-listing by transferring from Appendix II (a less endangered status) the populations of Botswana, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe. The African elephant as a species is not constrained within State borders, nor indeed are national populations. Many are shared with more than one country, arguing for a unified approach to their regulation under CITES.

«The African elephant is a single species and the CITES listing needs to reflect that,» says Andrew Seguya, Executive Directive of Uganda’s Wildlife Authority. «An elephant that wakes up in the morning in Angola as Appendix I could be in Namibia under Appendix II by the same afternoon. Africa and the EU need to work toward the common purpose of saving elephants from extinction. All elephants should be placed in Appendix I and we call on the EU to follow through on their commitment for a total ban on the ivory trade and support an African solution to an African problem.»

People on 1st picture (from left):
Pat Awori, Kenya, AEC Secretariat; Patrick Omondi, Vice Director Kenya Wildlife Service; Andrew Seguya, Executive Director Uganda Wildlife Authority; Daniela Freyer, Pro Wildlife, Germany; Solomon Kyalo, Kenya Wildlife Service; Daniel Idiata Mabounga, Deputy Director Wildlife Authority, Gabon; Benoît Doamba, Director Protected Areas, Burkina Faso; Azizou El Hadj Issa, former Minister of Agriculture in Benin and President of the Council of Elders of the AEC; Vera Weber, President Fondation Franz Weber, Switzerland.


NOTES  

The five proposals submitted by the AEC to CITES are: 

1. Listing all elephants in CITES Appendix I
The proposal seeks to unify all African elephant populations and their range States in one Appendix I listing, ending split-listing through the transfer from Appendix II of the populations of Botswana, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe.  

2. Closure of domestic ivory markets
This proposal calls for closure of all domestic markets for commercial trade in raw and worked ivory. Closing all internal markets in range, transit and end-user consumer States would drastically reduce opportunities for the laundering of poached ivory, under the guise that it is antique, “pre-Convention” or otherwise legally acquired. It would also reinforce the message that all ivory sales should be stopped, as they are dangerous for elephants.

3. Ivory stockpile destruction and management
This proposal builds on two earlier papers submitted to the CITES Standing Committee in 2014 and 2016, which led to recognition by the Committee of the destructions of ivory stockpiles by governments since 2011, and a recommendation to develop guidance on stockpile management. It endorses ivory destruction, encourages the highest possible standards of stockpile management, and requests the CITES Secretariat to provide the best available technical guidance on stockpile inventories, audit, management and disposal, including DNA sampling to determine the origin of items in the stockpile.

4. The Decision-Making Mechanism for a process of trade in ivory (DMM)
The proposal recommends that the CoP should end negotiations on the DMM. In view of the concerted global efforts to reduce demand for ivory, the existence of negotiations on a DMM process to legalize trade sends precisely the wrong message – that a legal and sustainable ivory trade is possible, and could reopen in the not-too-distant future. The DMM not only poses unacceptable risks for elephants, but has also generated valid objections among Parties, as shown by the fact that CITES has been unable to make any progress in negotiations after 9 years.  

5. Restricting trade in live elephants
The proposal aims to end the export of African elephants outside their natural range, including export to zoos and other captive facilities overseas. Such exports provide no direct benefit to conservation of elephants in their range States (as noted by the IUCN-SSC African Elephant Specialist Group), and there are considerable objections within Africa on ethical and cultural grounds. African elephants, along with their ivory, should remain in Africa.

  • The African Elephant Coalition was established in 2008 in Bamako, Mali. It comprises 29 member countries from Africa united by a common goal: “a viable and healthy elephant population free of threats from international ivory trade.”  A meeting in Montreux, Switzerland from 24-26 June 2016 was the seventh meeting of the Coalition since it was founded. 
  • The 29 member countries of the African Elephant Coalition include: Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Togo and Uganda. Of the 29 countries represented in the Coalition, 26 of them are African elephant range States, comprising the majority (70%) of the 37 countries in which African elephants occur in the wild.
  • The AEC praises the EU for adopting the EU Action Plan against Wildlife Trafficking and for urging the EU member states not to issue export or re-export documents for raw pre-Convention ivory from elephants on the basis of EU guidelines and to consider further measures to put a halt to commercial trade in ivory from elephants.
  • The Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) was established in 1973, entered into force in 1975, and accords varying degrees of protection and regulation of international trade to more than 35,000 species of animals and plants.  Currently 182 countries are Parties to the Convention. The 17th Conference of the Parties to CITES (CoP17) will be held in Johannesburg from 24 September to 5 October 2016. The Conference meets every three years.

04.07.2016 – 29 Afrikanische Staaten rufen die EU und die Schweiz auf, das Abschlachten von Elefanten zu stoppen

«Bleibt eurer Verpflichtung für ein totales Elfenbein-Handelsverbot treu und unterstützt eine afrikanische Lösung für ein afrikanisches Problem!»

Kein einziger Elefant wird in 25 Jahren in Afrika übrigbleiben, wenn das gegenwärtige Töten ungebremst fortdauert. Während die EU-Mitgliedsstaaten sich ab dem 4. Juli treffen, um ihre Position betreffend eines allfälligen Elfenbein-Handelsverbots zu besprechen, drängt eine Delegation der Koalition für den Afrikanischen Elefanten (African Elephant Coalition, AEC), die sich aus 29 Ländern zusammensetzt, die EU und die Europäische Kommission dazu, die einmalige historische Gelegenheit zu ergreifen. Europa soll seiner Verpflichtung zu einem Elfenbein-Handelsverbot treu bleiben. Gleichzeitig ersucht die AEC die Schweiz, ihre Anträge zu unterstützen. 

Durch die Wilderei sind die Elefantenbestände katastrophal geschrumpft. Allein zwischen 2010 und 2012 wurden wegen ihres Elfenbeins mindestens 100'000 Elefanten getötet, viele davon in AEC-Ländern.

«In den meisten unserer Länder ist die Situation alarmierend», sagt Azizou El Hadj Issa, ehemaliger Landwirtschaftsminister in Benin und Präsident des AEC-Ältestenrates. «Tag für Tag werden Elefanten abgeschlachtet, Wildhüter getötet, und der Elfenbeinhandel schürt den Terrorismus. Dies destabilisiert den gesamten Kontinent und hat gravierende Auswirkungen auf die Sicherheit anderer Kontinente wie die EU. Wir sind darauf angewiesen, dass die EU und die Schweiz uns unterstützen und zu einem Teil der Lösung dieser Krise werden.»

Eine AEC-Delegation traf sich letzte Woche sowohl mit hochrangigen Vertretern der EU-Kommission und von EU-Mitgliedsstaaten, als auch mit Vertretern der Schweizer CITES Behörde in Bern. Sie warb um Unterstützung für ihr Fünf-Punkte-Paket. Dieses soll zu einem Ende des Elfenbeinhandels führen und den Elefanten den höchsten internationalen Schutzstatus gewähren. 

Das Paket der Koalition richtet fünf Anträge an die 17. Vertragsparteienkonferenz (CoP17) des Übereinkommens über den internationalen Handel mit gefährdeten Arten freilebender Tiere und Pflanzen (CITES). Diese findet vom 24. September bis 5. Oktober in Johannesburg, Südafrika, statt.

Einer der Antragspunkte will unter anderem den Schutzstatus aller Populationen des Afrikanischen Elefanten unter Anhang I vereinen. Durch die Hochstufung der Bestände in Botswana, Namibia, Südafrika und Zimbabwe von Anhang II (weniger gefährdeter Status) auf Anhang I gäbe es nicht mehr zweierlei Listungen und alle Elefanten hätten maximalen Schutzstatus. Der Afrikanische Elefant als Art ist nicht an Landesgrenzen gebunden und auch die nationalen Bestände sind es nicht. Viele Populationen sind über mehr als ein Land verteilt, was ebenfalls nach einheitlicher Regulierung durch die CITES ruft.

«Der Afrikanische Elefant ist eine Art und das muss sich auch so in der CITES-Listung ausdrücken», fordert Andrew Seguya, Executive Direktor der Uganda Wildlife Authority. «Ein Elefant, der am Morgen in Angola unter CITES-Anhang I aufwacht, kann am selben Nachmittag durch Namibia streifen, unter Anhang II. Alle Nationen müssen auf das gemeinsame Ziel hinarbeiten: die Bewahrung der Elefanten vor der Ausrottung. Deshalb sollten alle Elefanten unter Anhang I gelistet werden. Wir rufen die Schweiz und die EU dazu auf, eine afrikanische Lösung für ein afrikanisches Problem zu unterstützen.»

Zum 1. Gruppenbild (von links):
Pat Awori, Kenia, AEC Sekretariat; Patrick Omondi, Vizedirektor des Kenya Wildlife Service, Kenia; Andrew Seguya, Executive Direktor der Uganda Wildlife Authority; Daniela Freyer, Pro Wildlife; Solomon Kyalo, Kenya Wildlife Service; Daniel Idiata Mabounga, Deputy Director Wildlife Authority, Gabun; Benoît Doamba, Directeur Aires protégées, Burkina Faso; Azizou El Hadj Issa, ehemaliger Landwirtschaftsminister in Benin und Präsident des AEC-Ältestenrates; Vera Weber, Präsidentin Fondation Franz Weber, Schweiz.


Zusatzinformationen

Die fünf Anträge, welche die AEC der CITES vorgelegt hat:

1. Die Listung aller Elefanten in CITES-Anhang I
Dieser Antrag will den Schutzstatus aller Populationen afrikanischer Elefanten unter Anhang I vereinen. Durch die Hochstufung der Bestände in Botswana, Namibia, Südafrika und Zimbabwe von Anhang II auf I gäbe es nicht mehr zweierlei Listungen.

2. Schliessung der Binnenmärkte für Elfenbein
Dieser Vorschlag fordert, dass alle Regierungen ihre Binnenmärkte für den Handel mit Rohelfenbein und bearbeitetem Elfenbein schliessen. Die Schliessung der Märkte in den Ursprungs-, Transit- und Abnehmerländern, würde die Elfenbein-Nachfrage drastisch reduzieren. Ebenso die Möglichkeiten des Reinwaschens von aus der Wilderei stammendem Elfenbein unter dem Vorwand, es sei antik, vor dem Abkommen oder sonst wie legal erworben. Dies würde auch die Botschaft bekräftigen, dass alle Elfenbeinverkäufe gestoppt werden müssen, weil sie die Elefanten gefährden.

3. Zerstörung und Kontrolle von Elfenbeinbeständen
Dieser Antrag baut auf zwei Dokumenten auf, die dem ständigen CITES-Ausschuss 2014 und 2016 vorgelegt wurden. Er ruft auf zur Ausarbeitung strengmöglicher Richtlinien zur Kontrolle der Elfenbeinlagerbestände. Viele CITES-Länder haben seit 2011 öffentliche Zerstörungen von Elfenbeinlagern durchgeführt. Hiermit soll ein klares Signal gesetzt werden, dass der Elfenbeinhandel verboten werden muss, um die Elefanten zu retten. Dieser Vorschlag unterstützt die Zerstörung von Lagerbeständen und verpflichtet das CITES-Sekretariat dazu, die bestmögliche technische Unterstützung bei der Listung, Prüfung, Verwaltung und der Beseitigung von Elfenbeinlagern anzubieten, wozu auch eine Ursprungsbestimmung des Elfenbeins anhand von DNA-Proben gehört.

4. Beendigung des Entscheidungsmechanismus zur Legalisierung des Elfenbeinhandels
Der Antrag empfiehlt, der Diskussion über einen Entscheidungsmechanismus (EM) durch CITES ein Ende zu setzen. Neun Jahre lang hat CITES erfolglos einen EM diskutiert, um ein System des legalen internationalen Elfenbeinhandels zu schaffen. Es gibt jedoch keine Aussicht auf Einigung zwischen den Regierungen. Die anhaltende Debatte setzt genau das falsche Signal, nämlich, dass ein legaler und nachhaltiger Elfenbeinhandel denkbar ist. Damit begünstigt sie die Wilderei und die Lagerung von Elfenbein für einen zukünftigen «legalisierten» Handel.

5. Beschränkung des Handels mit lebenden Elefanten
Dieser Antrag visiert ein Ende des Exports afrikanischer Elefanten ausserhalb ihres natürlichen Lebensraumes an, auch in ausländische Zoos und ähnliche Einrichtungen. Dies trägt den Erkenntnissen der Expertengruppe der Weltnaturschutzunion (IUCN-SSC) Rechnung, die besagen, dass die Ausfuhr afrikanischer Elefanten aus freier Wildbahn nicht vorteilhaft ist für ihren Fortbestand, sondern im Gegenteil die wilden Bestände schädigt. Dazu kommen bedeutende ethische und kulturelle Einwände aus Afrika selber. Afrikanische Elefanten und deren Elfenbein sollten in Afrika bleiben.

  • Die Koalition für den Afrikanischen Elefanten (African Elephant Coalition AEC) wurde 2008 in Bamako, Mali, gegründet. Die AEC umfasst 29 Mitgliedsstaaten aus Afrika, die ein gemeinsames Ziel verfolgen «Einen tragfähigen und gesunden Elefantenbestand ohne Bedrohungen durch den internationalen Elfenbeinhandel.»
  • Die 29 AEC-Mitgliedsländer sind: Äquatorialguinea, Äthiopien, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Demokratische Republik Kongo, Elfenbeinküste, Eritrea, Gabun, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kamerun, Kenia, Komoren, Liberia, Mali, Mauretanien, Niger, Nigeria, Ruanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Südsudan, Togo, Tschad, Uganda und Zentralafrikanische Republik. Von den 29 Mitgliedsstaaten der AEC befinden sich 26 im Verbreitungsgebiet des Afrikanischen Elefanten. Sie vertreten dadurch eine deutliche Mehrheit (70 Prozent) der 37 Staaten im Verbreitungsgebiet.
  • Die Fondation Franz Weber (FFW) mit Hauptsitz in Montreux, Schweiz, kämpft aktiv und an vorderster Front für Natur- und Artenschutz in Afrika, sie ist Partnerin der African Elephant Coalition seit ihrer Gründung. Die FFW arbeitet weltweit zum Schutz von Tier und Natur.
  • Die Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (kurz CITES, deutsch Übereinkommen über den internationalen Handel mit gefährdeten Arten freilebender Tiere und Pflanzen) wurde 1973 gegründet und trat 1975 in Kraft. Heute gehören 182 Länder dazu. CITES soll einen nachhaltigen, internationalen Handel mit den in ihren Anhängen gelisteten mehr als 35'000 Tieren und Pflanzen gewährleisten. Die nächste Konferenz der CITES-Vertragsparteien (CoP17) findet vom 24. September bis 5. Oktober 2016 in Johannesburg, Südafrika, statt. Die Konferenz tagt jedes 3. Jahr.