11.01.2016 – Hope for elephants in Geneva?

Illegal – and legal – trade in ivory and the rampant killing of African elephants will be a central topic of discussion next week at the 66th meeting of the Standing Committee of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) in Geneva.

Illegal – and legal – trade in ivory and the rampant killing of African elephants will be a central topic of discussion next week at the 66th meeting of the Standing Committee of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) in Geneva.

All populations of African elephants were listed on Appendix I of CITES in 1989, effectively banning international ivory trade.  But the protection was weakened in 1997 and 2000 when populations in four countries (Botswana, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe) were down-listed to Appendix II (a less endangered status) to allow two sales of ivory stockpiles in 1999 and 2008. 

In November, 25 African countries representing the African Elephant Coalition adopted the Cotonou Declaration, calling for a total ban on ivory trade worldwide. 

The CITES Standing Committee oversees the work of the Convention during the two- or three-year periods between its Conferences of the Parties (CoPs).  CITES was established in 1973, entered into force in 1975, and accords varying degrees of protection to more than 35,000 species of animals and plants.  Currently 181 countries are parties to the Convention. CITES CoP17 will be held in Johannesburg from 24 September to 5 October 2016.

We will be reporting from SC66.

11.01.2016 – Hoffnung für Afrikas Elefanten in Genf?

Illegal – oder legal – Die zügellose Tötung von Afrikanischen Elefanten und der Elfenbeinhandel sind diese Woche in Genf zentrales Thema. Nun tagt der Ständige Ausschuss des Übereinkommens zum internationalen Handel mit gefährdeten Arten (CITES).

Der Elfenbeinhandel und die zügellose Tötung von Afrikanischen Elefanten sind diese Woche in Genf zentrales Thema sein. Nun tagt der Ständige Ausschuss des Übereinkommens zum internationalen Handel mit gefährdeten Arten (CITES) zum 66. Mal (SC66).

Alle Afrikanischen Elefantenpopulationen wurden 1989 auf Anhang I des CITES hochgestuft. Der strengere Schutz unterband den internationalen Elfenbeinhandel wirksam. Doch 1997 und 2000 wurde der Schutz mit der Zurückstufung der Elefanten auf Anhang II – einen tieferen Gefährdungsstatus – in den vier Ländern Botswana, Namibia, Südafrika und Simbabwe gelockert. Dies sollte 1999 und 2008 den zweimaligen Verkauf von alten Elfenbeinbeständen ermöglichen.

Im November 2015 haben 25 in der Afrikanischen Elefantenkoalition zusammengeschlossene Länder die Erklärung von Cotonou verabschiedet. Diese fordert ein totales weltweites Handelsverbot für Elfenbein. 

Während den 2- bis 3-jährigen Phasen zwischen den Konferenzen der CITES-Vertragsparteien (CoP) überwacht der Ständige Ausschuss die Arbeit des Übereinkommens. CITES wurde 1973 gegründet und trat 1975 in Kraft. Es hat mehr oder weniger strenge Schutzbestimmungen für über 35‘000 wildlebende Tier- und Pflanzenarten erlassen. Zurzeit zählt das Übereinkommen 181 Länder als Vertragsparteien. CITES CoP17 wird vom 24. September bis 5. Oktober 2016 in Johannesburg, Südafrika tagen.

Wir werden direkt vom SC66 berichten.