28.01.2015 – France takes steps to protect elephants

Last week, 37 NGOs, including the Fondation Franz Weber, sent a letter to the French Ministry of Ecology demanding immediate measures be taken to curb the ivory trade and its catastrophic consequences for African elephants. On 28 January 2015, the Ministry called a meeting in Paris to bring together the representatives of the organisations who signed the letter. The FFW took part in this meeting.

The action was effective, as the same day, the Minister of Ecology Ségolène Royal announced the ministry's decision to immediately suspend the export of elephant tusks from France, as well as her strong desire to fight the ivory trade.

During the meeting, the NGOs expressed their deep concern about the epidemic of poaching currently sweeping Africa, and about the growing demand for ivory coming from Asia, in particular China. There, a kilo of ivory can fetch record prices of EUR 7000.

The sale of raw ivory in France - and all of Europe - and its export feed speculation on ivory and the Asian demand for it. Ivory distributors in Asia use the cover of legal ivory to sell illegal stocks.

The measures taken by France should serve as an example for the rest of Europe. Another positive development is France's statement regarding its willingness to continue destroying seized ivory stocks in 2015. This type of media action sends a clear message to traffickers and poachers: the ivory seized has no value and its sale will not be tolerated.


For more information, see:

Ivory trafficking: 37 NGOs point the finger at France, 20 January 2015

http://www.robindesbois.org/communiques/animal/2015/Trafic-ivoire-37-ONG-pointent-la-France.html

Ivory trafficking: 37 NGOs point the finger at France / follow-up 1, 20 January 2015 - 11:00 p.m.

http://www.robindesbois.org/communiques/animal/2015/Trafic-ivoire-et-elephants-suite1.html

French Ministry of Ecology Press Release - 28/01/15

http://www.developpement-durable.gouv.fr/Preserver-les-elephants-Segolene,42070.html

28.01.2015 – Frankreich unternimmt Schritte für den Elefantenschutz

37 Nichtregierungsorganisationen (NGOs), darunter die Fondation Franz Weber (FFW), haben vergangene Woche das französische Umweltministerium in einem Schreiben aufgefordert, sofortige Massnahmen zur Beendigung des Elfenbeinhan­dels mit seinen verheerenden Konsequenzen zu ergreifen. Am 28. Januar 2015 hat das Ministerium eine Versammlung mit allen 37 unterzeichnenden NGOs – darunter auch die FFW – einberufen.

Ein effizienter Schritt, denn noch am selben Tag hat Umweltministerin Ségolène Royal angekündigt, mit sofortiger Wirkung den Export von Elefantenstosszähnen aus Frankreich auszusetzen und den Elfenbeinhandel entschlossen zu bekämpfen.

Während des Treffens äusserten die NGOs ihre tiefe Besorgnis über die epidemischen Ausmasse, welche die Wilderei in Afrika angenommen hat, wie auch den wachsenden Hunger nach Elfenbein in Asien, insbesondere China. Dort erzielt ein Kilo Elfenbein Preise bis zu 7000 Euro. 

Der Verkauf von Roh-Elfenbein in Frankreich – und in ganz Europa – sowie dessen Export schürt die Spekulation auf Elfenbein und die Nachfrage in Asien. Grosse Mengen illegalen Elfenbeins gelangen unter dem Deckmantel legalen Elfenbeins nach Asien.

Frankreichs Massnahmen sollten beispielhaft sein für andere europäische Länder. Als weitere gute Nachricht hat Frankreich für das Jahr 2015 die Vernichtung von beschlagnahmtem Elfenbein angekündigt. Derartige Aktionen senden medienwirk­sam eine klare Botschaft an Schmuggler und Wilderer: beschlagnahmtes Elfenbein ist wertlos und dessen Handel wird nicht toleriert.

Siehe auch:
Elfenbeinhandel: Aufforderung von 37 NGOs an Frankreich, 20.01.15 (auf Französisch)
www.robindesbois.org/communiques/animal/2015/Trafic-ivoire-37-ONG-pointent-la-France.html
Elfenbeinhandel: Aufforderung von 37 NGOs an Frankreich, Ergänzung 1, 20.01.15 – 23:00 Uhr (auf Französisch)
www.robindesbois.org/communiques/animal/2015/Trafic-ivoire-et-elephants-suite1.html
Pressemitteilung des französischen Umweltministeriums – 28.01.15 (auf Französisch)
www.developpement-durable.gouv.fr/Preserver-les-elephants-Segolene,42070.html