Zoo XXI

Keeping wild animals in zoos will never be completely species-appropriate. Can we reconcile this with our moral conscience? In our view, a paradigm shift is urgently needed.

Animal welfare regulations and our ethical principles on the subject of animals and how we keep them have undergone a dramatic change over the last few decades. Today, the traditional institution of the zoo is coming under increasingly frequent criticism for its outdated model. In the past, bigger enclosures and a more species-appropriate design of living spaces have improved animal housing in zoos, but the fundamental ethical problem remains – the confinement of wild animals. 

The campaign Zoo XXI by Fondation Franz Weber (FFW) seeks to solve this dilemma. It is imperative that we move away from the 19th century mindset of “using” animals to finding "a use" for zoos. This is why the FFW does not believe that closing existing zoos is the right approach. Every zoo that is shut down can no longer be converted into something useful. But modern zoos must undergo radical change in order to serve a use for animal welfare in the future: They will become a place of protection and care, of rehabilitation for injured, confiscated and exploited animals. Animals that cannot be guaranteed a species-appropriate life in a zoo will instead be taken to sanctuaries or conservation areas, or released into the wild. In the long term, zoos will only house injured, confiscated or mistreated wild animals, as well as local species that are included in protection and reintroduction programmes. Environmental education will also be a key focus - zoos will no longer simply provide information about various animal species in general; rather their teaching will centre on the animal as an individual. This is an empathetic model that takes into account the specific needs and interests of the animals.

On 7 May 2015, Fondation Franz Weber launched the campaign Zoo XXI in Barcelona. Its first success followed shortly afterwards, with the Bioparque Convivencia Pachuca in Mexico announcing that it will be joining the Zoo XXI programme to become the world's first Zoo XXI!

More information about Zoo XXI

News

14.11.2017 – Barcelona City Council: please approve the citizen's Initiative ZOOXXI
28.03.2017 – ZOOXXI: first stop Barcelona
27.12.2016 – Milestone! Law to convert Mendoza Zoo approved

SEE ALL

Zoo XXI

Die Haltung von Wildtieren in Zoos wird nie vollkommen artgerecht sein können. Können wir dies mit unserem moralischen Gewissen vereinbaren? Aus unserer Sicht ist ein Paradigmenwechsel dringend notwendig.

Tierschutzbestimmungen und unsere ethischen Vorstellungen über Tiere und ihre Haltung haben sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten stark verändert. Heute wird die traditionelle Institution Zoo wegen ihres veralteten Modells immer häufiger kritisiert. Grössere Gehege und eine tiergerechtere Gestaltung der Lebensräume haben zwar in Vergangenheit für eine Verbesserung der Tierhaltung in Zoos gesorgt, jedoch wird dabei das ethische Grundproblem – die Gefangenhaltung von Wildtieren – nicht gelöst. 

Die Kampagne Zoo XXI der Fondation Franz Weber (FFW) will dieses Dilemma lösen. Es gilt, von der Denkweise des 19. Jahrhunderts, der „Nutzung“ der Tiere wegzukommen, hin zu einem „Nutzen“ für die Tiere. Eine Schliessung der bestehenden Zoos ist dabei aus Sicht der FFW nicht der richtige Weg. Jeder Zoo, der geschlossen wird, kann nicht mehr umgenutzt werden. Die heutigen Zoos müssen jedoch radikal geändert werden, um in Zukunft dem Tierwohl zu nutzen: Sie werden zu einem Ort von Schutz und Pflege, der Regeneration von verletzten, beschlagnahmten und ausgesetzten Tieren. Diejenigen Tiere, denen kein artgerechtes Leben im Zoo garantiert werden kann, werden in Schutzgebiete gebracht oder ausgewildert. Längerfristig werden die Zoos nur noch verletzte, beschlagnahmte oder misshandelte Wildtiere sowie einheimische Arten in Schutz- und Auswilderungsprogrammen halten. Im Zentrum steht zudem die Umweltbildung; nicht mehr nur die Informationen über verschiedenen Tierarten, sondern auch das Tier als Individuum stehen in Zukunft im Mittelpunkt der Lehre des Zoos. Ein empathisches Modell, das die konkreten Bedürfnisse und Interessen der Tiere berücksichtigt.

Am 7. Mai 2015 präsentierte die Fondation Franz Weber die Kampagne Zoo XXI in Barcelona. Und bereits kurz darauf konnte ein erster Erfolg verzeichnet werden: Der Zoo Bioparque Convivencia Pachuca in Mexiko gibt bekannt, dass er sich dem Programm Zoo XXI anschliesst und somit zum ersten Zoo XXI der Welt wird!

Um vertiefte Informationen und Impressionen zum Zoo XXI zu erhalten, finden Sie hier zwei Artikel aus verschiedenen Ausgaben des Journal Franz Weber (JFW):

JFW112_2015_ZooXXI_DE_Zukunft
JFW109_2014_ZooXXI_DE_Auslaufmodelle

Mehr Informationen über den Zoo XXI

Aktuelles

01.01.2018 – Alles Gute im neuen Jahr!
08.12.2017 – Zoo Basel misst nicht für alle Tiere mit gleichen Ellen
20.11.2017 – Das neue Journal Franz Weber ist online!
14.11.2017 – Barcelona, bitte führt den ZOOXXI ein!
04.10.2017 – Für die Fondation Franz Weber ist jeden Tag Welttiertag

ALLE ZEIGEN