Consultants and Experts

Consultants assist Fondation Franz Weber (FFW) in its work and various campaigns.

Hedia Baccar
Wildlife Consultant with regard to CITES and focal point for the African Elephant Coalition for FFW 


Expert in environmental protection and endangered wild species.

Hedia Baccar has extensive experience in environmental protection and international relations. In particular, she represented Tunisia in the negotiation of several environmental agreements, MEAs, and the Mediterranean Action Plan. She also led her country's delegation at CITES.

After several years with the IFAW (International Fund for Animal Welfare), Hedia Baccar joined Fondation Franz Weber in 2014. She is working actively for the protection of African elephants and wildlife in general.


Patricia Awori
Consultant for the protection of the African elephant 


Born in Nairobi, Pat holds a B.A. degree in International Relations, with a minor in behavioral sciences.

Director of Pan-African Wildlife Conservation Network, she is also founder and Chair of the Kenya Elephant Forum, a member of the East African Wildlife Society, and collaborated in establishing the African Elephant Coalition and the Kenya Elephant Forum, both influential advocacy groups in the campaign for the preservation of elephants.

As an expert in wildlife conservation, and in particular the protection of elephants, Pat advises the FFW in its work in favour of the African elephant. Her vast experience is an invaluable asset to the Foundation.


Rosalind Reeve
Senior Legal Advisor to Fondation Franz Weber on CITES and the protection of African elephants


Originally from the UK, Rosalind Reeve is an environmental lawyer, campaigner and political strategist. Her 27 years experience ranges from field investigations into wildlife trafficking in Africa and Asia to influencing international environmental policy and law through active engagement in CITES and other international conventions. She has been campaigning to protect elephants from ivory trade since 1988, when her work took her to Kenya and Tanzania where she witnessed first hand the impacts of rampant poaching and trafficking on African elephants. Rosalind also works on climate and forest policy, and has been at the forefront of the campaign to prevent deforestation through action under the climate change convention for the last six years.

Dr Reeve is author of the textbook, Policing International Trade in Endangered Species: the CITES Treaty and Compliance. She has a master’s degree in environmental law from the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, and a PhD in biochemistry from University College London.


Rémy Ledauphin
Consultant in management of protected areas and wildlife


Rémy is a trained ecologist and geographer, of French origin. For almost 20 years he has been working to preserve the African wildlife.

He has worked in various protected areas and on various conservation programs in Central and West Africa. He has successfully delivered consulting in Africa in the field of management and co-management of protected areas and peripheral areas, community management of natural resources and protected areas, conflict humans-animals, environmental education, environmental monitoring, and ecotourism. The fight against poaching is his main speciality.
 




Back

Berater und Experten

Bei jeder Kampagne stehen der Fondation Franz Weber (FFW) Berater mit wertvollem Expertenwissen zur Seite.

Hedia Baccar
Beraterin im Bereich Wildtiere im Rahmen der CITES und Ansprechpartnerin der FFW bei der Koalition für Elefanten in Afrika


Umweltschutzexpertin und Fachfrau für vom Aussterben bedrohte Arten.

Hedia Baccar verfügt über eine langjährige Erfahrung in den Bereichen Umweltschutz und internationale Beziehungen. Sie hat Tunesien bei vielen Verhandlungen zu Umweltabkommen, multilateralen Umweltvereinbarungen und Aktionsplänen vertreten. Außerdem vertritt sie ihr Land als Delegationschefin bei der CITES.

Als langjähriges Mitglied des IFAW (internationaler Tierschutzfonds) ist Hedia Baccar 2014 der Fondation Franz Weber beigetreten. Sie arbeitet aktiv am Elefantenschutz in Afrika.


Patricia Awori
Beraterin im Bereich Elefantenschutz


Pat ist in Nairobi geboren und hat ein abgeschlossenes B.A. Studium in Internationalen Beziehungen mit Nebenfach Verhaltenswissenschaften in der Tasche.

Sie ist Direktorin des Pan-African Wildlife Conservation Network, Gründerin und Vorsitzende des Kenya Elephant Forum und Mitglied der East African Wildlife Society. Ausserdem hat sie beim Aufbau der African Elephant Coalition und des Kenya Elephant Forum – zwei einflussreichen Interessensgruppen in der Elefantenschutzkampagne – mitgewirkt.

Als Expertin für den Schutz von wild lebenden Tieren, insbesondere von Elefanten, berät Pat die Fondation Franz Weber bei ihrer Arbeit im Bereich Elefantenschutz. Ihr grosser Erfahrungsschatz ist für die Stiftung von unschätzbarem Wert.


Rosalind Reeve
Leitende Rechtsberaterin der Fondation Franz Weber für CITES und den Schutz der afrikanischen Elefanten


Rosalind Reeve, die aus Großbritannien stammt, ist Juristin, Aktivistin und politische Strategin für Umweltschutz. Ihr 27jähriger Erfahrungsschatz reicht von Untersuchungen des illegalen Handels mit Wildtieren in Afrika und Asien vor Ort bis hin zur Einflussnahme auf die internationale Umweltpolitik und internationales Umweltrecht durch ihr aktives Engagement für CITES und andere internationale Umweltabkommen. Seit 1988, als ihre Arbeit sie nach Kenia und Tansania führte, wo sie sich selbst ein Bild von den Folgen der grassierenden Wilderei und des Tierhandel mit afrikanischen Elefanten machen konnte, leitet sie Kampagnen zum Schutz der Elefanten vor Elfenbeinhandel. Rosalind Reeve ist auch in der Klima- und Forstpolitik aktiv und stand während der letzten sechs Jahre an der Spitze der Kampagne zum Stopp der Entwaldung durch aktive Massnahmen im Rahmen der UN-Klimakonvention.   

Dr. Reeve ist die Autorin des Buchs „Policing International Trade in Endangered Species: the CITES Treaty and Compliance“. Sie erwarb ihren juristischen Hochschulabschluss in Umweltrecht an der „School of Oriental and African Studies“ der Universität London und promovierte in Biochemie am University College London.


Rémy Ledauphin
Berater Management von Schutzgebieten und Wildtieren


Rémy ist ausgebildeter Ökologe und Geograph, französischer Herkunft. Seit fast 20 Jahren arbeitet er für die Erhaltung der afrikanischen Tierwelt.

Er hat in verschiedenen Schutzgebieten und auf verschiedenen Naturschutzprogrammen in Mittel- und Westafrika gearbeitet. Zu seinen Erfolgen zählen Beratungsaufträge in Afrika in den Bereichen: Management und Co-Management von Schutzgebieten und Randgebieten, Community Management von natürlichen Ressourcen und Schutzgebieten, Konflikt Mensch-Tier, Umweltbildung, Umweltüberwachung und Ökotourismus. Der Kampf gegen die Wilderei ist sein Spezialthema.




Zurück