Helvetia Nostra

Helvetia Nostra, a subsidiary of the Fondation Franz Weber, has existed since 1976, exclusively in Switzerland, with the mission of protecting the countryside, natural heritage and animals.

As an association under Swiss law, Helvetia Nostra has an association's right to appeal and can launch political initiatives. It takes part in parliamentary consultations on agriculture and the protection of animals, the countryside, nature and the environment.

Above all, Helvetia Nostra is known for launching the popular initiative “To put a stop to the invasive spread of second homes”, accepted by the Swiss people on 11 March 2012, and the initiative “Animals are not objects!”.

Its action at local, regional and national level is carried out with one goal in mind: promoting a country featuring towns that are great places to live, with preserved natural habitats and countryside, both for people and animals.

Helvetia Nostra

Helvetia Nostra, ein Tochterverein der Fondation Franz Weber, setzt sich seit 1977 – ausschliesslich in der Schweiz – aktiv für den Schutz der Landschaft, der Heimat und der Tiere ein.

Als Verein nach schweizerischem Recht verfügt Helvetia Nostra über das Verbandsbeschwerderecht und kann Volksinitiativen einleiten. Helvetia Nostra beteiligt sich an parlamentarischen Anhörungen, die die Landwirtschaft sowie den Tier-, Landschafts-, Natur- und Umweltschutz betreffen.

Bekannt wurde Helvetia Nostra insbesondere durch die Einleitung der am 11. März 2012 vom Schweizer Stimmvolk angenommenen Volksinitiative „Schluss mit uferlosem Bau von Zweitwohnungen“ und der Initiative „Tiere sind keine Sachen!“.

Ihre Aktionen auf Kommunal-, Kantons- und Bundesebene dienen einem einzigen Ziel: der Förderung eines Landes mit Städten, in denen es wohl tut, zu leben, mit geschützten Lebensräumen und Landschaften – für die Tiere ebenso wie für die Menschen.