04.07.2016 – 29 African countries call on the EU to stop the slaughter of elephants

«Follow through on your commitments for a total ban on the ivory trade and support an African solution to an African problem!»

In 25 years there may not be a single elephant remaining in Africa if current rates of killing continue. As the EU member States meet on 4  July to discuss their position on whether to ban the ivory trade, a th delegation of the African Elephant Coalition (AEC), comprising 29 African countries, is calling urgently on the European Union and the European Commission to grasp a historic opportunity and follow through on their commitments to ban the ivory trade, while praising the EU for adopting the EU Action Plan against Wildlife Trafficking.

Elephants are experiencing catastrophic declines from poaching. From 2010 to 2012, at least 100,000 elephants were killed in Africa for their ivory, many of them in AEC countries. 

«The situation is alarming in most of our countries,» says Azizou El Hadj Issa, former Minister of Agriculture in Benin and President of the Council of Elders of the AEC. «Elephants are slaughtered every day, rangers are being killed and the trade is fueling terrorism which destabilizes the continent and has huge repercussions for EU security. We need the EU to support us and become part of the solution to this crisis. We, the Africans, have that solution and we call on the EU and its member States to throw their support behind our proposals.»

In Brussels last week, a delegation of the AEC met with several high level officials of the European Commission and of EU member States to seek support for their five-part package to put an end to the ivory trade and afford elephants the highest protection under international law.

The AEC is also calling on the EU to extend its commitment toward implementing the African Elephant Action Plan, adopted by all African elephant range states in 2010, by supporting the listing of all African  elephants in Appendix I as a way to enhance the unity of African nations with respect to elephants and elephant conservation.

The AEC’s package consists of five proposals to the 17th Conference of the Parties (CoP17) of CITES (the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora) from 24 September to 5 October in Johannesburg, South Africa.

One of the proposals seeks to unify all African elephant populations and their range States in one Appendix I listing. This would provide maximum protection to elephants and end the split-listing by transferring from Appendix II (a less endangered status) the populations of Botswana, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe. The African elephant as a species is not constrained within State borders, nor indeed are national populations. Many are shared with more than one country, arguing for a unified approach to their regulation under CITES.

«The African elephant is a single species and the CITES listing needs to reflect that,» says Andrew Seguya, Executive Directive of Uganda’s Wildlife Authority. «An elephant that wakes up in the morning in Angola as Appendix I could be in Namibia under Appendix II by the same afternoon. Africa and the EU need to work toward the common purpose of saving elephants from extinction. All elephants should be placed in Appendix I and we call on the EU to follow through on their commitment for a total ban on the ivory trade and support an African solution to an African problem.»

People on 1st picture (from left):
Pat Awori, Kenya, AEC Secretariat; Patrick Omondi, Vice Director Kenya Wildlife Service; Andrew Seguya, Executive Director Uganda Wildlife Authority; Daniela Freyer, Pro Wildlife, Germany; Solomon Kyalo, Kenya Wildlife Service; Daniel Idiata Mabounga, Deputy Director Wildlife Authority, Gabon; Benoît Doamba, Director Protected Areas, Burkina Faso; Azizou El Hadj Issa, former Minister of Agriculture in Benin and President of the Council of Elders of the AEC; Vera Weber, President Fondation Franz Weber, Switzerland.


NOTES  

The five proposals submitted by the AEC to CITES are: 

1. Listing all elephants in CITES Appendix I
The proposal seeks to unify all African elephant populations and their range States in one Appendix I listing, ending split-listing through the transfer from Appendix II of the populations of Botswana, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe.  

2. Closure of domestic ivory markets
This proposal calls for closure of all domestic markets for commercial trade in raw and worked ivory. Closing all internal markets in range, transit and end-user consumer States would drastically reduce opportunities for the laundering of poached ivory, under the guise that it is antique, “pre-Convention” or otherwise legally acquired. It would also reinforce the message that all ivory sales should be stopped, as they are dangerous for elephants.

3. Ivory stockpile destruction and management
This proposal builds on two earlier papers submitted to the CITES Standing Committee in 2014 and 2016, which led to recognition by the Committee of the destructions of ivory stockpiles by governments since 2011, and a recommendation to develop guidance on stockpile management. It endorses ivory destruction, encourages the highest possible standards of stockpile management, and requests the CITES Secretariat to provide the best available technical guidance on stockpile inventories, audit, management and disposal, including DNA sampling to determine the origin of items in the stockpile.

4. The Decision-Making Mechanism for a process of trade in ivory (DMM)
The proposal recommends that the CoP should end negotiations on the DMM. In view of the concerted global efforts to reduce demand for ivory, the existence of negotiations on a DMM process to legalize trade sends precisely the wrong message – that a legal and sustainable ivory trade is possible, and could reopen in the not-too-distant future. The DMM not only poses unacceptable risks for elephants, but has also generated valid objections among Parties, as shown by the fact that CITES has been unable to make any progress in negotiations after 9 years.  

5. Restricting trade in live elephants
The proposal aims to end the export of African elephants outside their natural range, including export to zoos and other captive facilities overseas. Such exports provide no direct benefit to conservation of elephants in their range States (as noted by the IUCN-SSC African Elephant Specialist Group), and there are considerable objections within Africa on ethical and cultural grounds. African elephants, along with their ivory, should remain in Africa.

  • The African Elephant Coalition was established in 2008 in Bamako, Mali. It comprises 29 member countries from Africa united by a common goal: “a viable and healthy elephant population free of threats from international ivory trade.”  A meeting in Montreux, Switzerland from 24-26 June 2016 was the seventh meeting of the Coalition since it was founded. 
  • The 29 member countries of the African Elephant Coalition include: Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Togo and Uganda. Of the 29 countries represented in the Coalition, 26 of them are African elephant range States, comprising the majority (70%) of the 37 countries in which African elephants occur in the wild.
  • The AEC praises the EU for adopting the EU Action Plan against Wildlife Trafficking and for urging the EU member states not to issue export or re-export documents for raw pre-Convention ivory from elephants on the basis of EU guidelines and to consider further measures to put a halt to commercial trade in ivory from elephants.
  • The Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) was established in 1973, entered into force in 1975, and accords varying degrees of protection and regulation of international trade to more than 35,000 species of animals and plants.  Currently 182 countries are Parties to the Convention. The 17th Conference of the Parties to CITES (CoP17) will be held in Johannesburg from 24 September to 5 October 2016. The Conference meets every three years.

04.07.2016 – 29 pays d’Afrique lancent un appel à l’UE et à la Suisse pour mettre fin au massacre des éléphant

« Honorez vos engagements en faveur d’une interdiction totale du commerce de l’ivoire et soutenez une solution africaine à un problème africain »

Au vu du rythme actuel du braconnage d’éléphants, il est possible que d’ici 25 ans, il ne reste plus aucun éléphant vivant en Afrique. A partir du 4 juillet, les Etats-membres de l’UE se réuniront pour convenir d’une position sur l’interdiction du commerce de l’ivoire. Dans cette perspective, une délégation de la Coalition pour l’Eléphant d’Afrique (CEA) – une Coalition de 29 Etats africains – demande à la Suisse, à l’Union européenne et à la Commission européenne de saisir une opportunité unique de sauver les éléphants de l’extinction.

Les populations d’éléphants connaissent un déclin catastrophique en raison du braconnage intense dont elles sont victimes. Entre 2010 et 2012, en Afrique, au moins 100'000 éléphants ont été tués pour leur ivoire, en grande partie dans les pays de la CEA.

« La situation est alarmante dans la plupart de nos pays », explique Azizou El Hadj Issa, ancien Ministre de l’agriculture du Bénin et Président du Conseil des sages de la CEA, « les éléphants sont massacrés chaque jour, des gardes-forestiers sont tués et le commerce alimente le terrorisme, ce qui déstabilise le continent tout entier et affecte également la sécurité en Europe. Nous avons besoin que la Suisse et l’UE nous apporte leur appui. Nous, les africains, disposons d’une solution et demandons à la Suisse et à l’UE de soutenir nos propositions ».

La semaine passée, une délégation de la CEA a non seulement rencontré plusieurs représentants officiels de la Commission européenne et des Etats-membres de l’UE à Bruxelles, La Haie, Bonn et Paris, mais aussi avec des officiels suisses à Berne, afin d’obtenir un soutien à un ensemble de cinq mesures qui permettront de mettre un terme au commerce de l’ivoire et d’offrir aux éléphants la plus haute protection en droit international.

La CEA propose un ensemble de cinq propositions qui seront soumises à la 17ème Conférence des Parties (CoP17) de la CITES du 24 septembre au 5 octobre prochain à Johannesburg, en Afrique du Sud.

L’une de ces propositions cherche à inscrire toutes les populations d’éléphants et leurs pays d’aire de répartition à l’Annexe I de la CITES. Cette mesure accordera aux éléphants une protection maximale, et mettra terme à l’inscription séparée des populations du Botswana, de la Namibie, de l’Afrique du Sud et du Zimbabwe à l’Annexe II de la CITES (qui confère un statut moins menacé aux espèces). L’éléphant d’Afrique, en tant qu’espèce, n’est pas limité par les frontières étatiques. En général, les populations d’éléphants sont partagées par différents pays, et il est donc justifié qu’un régime légal CITES unifié leur soit appliqué.

« L’éléphant d’Afrique est une seule et unique espèce, et le régime CITES doit refléter cette réalité », d’après Andrew Seguya, Directeur exécutif de l’Autorité ougandaise des espèces sauvages, « un éléphant peut très bien se réveiller un matin en Angola, sous le régime de l’Annexe I à la CITES, et se trouver en Namibie durant l’après-midi, pays dont les populations d’éléphants sont inscrites à l’Annexe II », poursuit-il, « l’Afrique et l’Europe doivent travailler ensemble pour sauver les éléphants de l’extinction. Tous les éléphants doivent être inscrits à l’Annexe I, et nous demandons donc à la Suisse et à l’UE de voter pour l’interdiction totale du commerce de l’ivoire, et de soutenir une solution africaine à un problème africain». 

 

Notes

Les cinq propositions soumises par la Coalition pour l’Elephant d’Afrique sont les suivantes :

1. Inscrire tous les éléphants à l’Annexe I de la CITES 

La proposition vise à réunir toutes les populations des éléphants d’Afrique et les États de leur aire de répartition sous une même inscription à l’Annexe I de la CITES, et à ainsi supprimer l’inscription scindée par le transfert des populations d’éléphants du Botswana, de la Namibie, de l’Afrique du Sud et du Zimbabwe à l’Annexe II CITES. En tant qu’espèce, l’éléphant d’Afrique n’est pas cantonné à des frontières étatiques, pas davantage que les populations nationales. Beaucoup de ces populations sont situées dans plusieurs pays, justifiant ainsi une approche unifiée des règlementations CITES. Cette mesure a pour but d’assurer une protection maximale aux éléphants, en simplifiant et en améliorant le respect des dispositions légales, et en envoyant un message clair au monde en ce sens qu’aucun commerce légal de l’ivoire n’est autorisé par le droit international.

2. Fermeture des marchés d’ivoire nationaux 

Cette proposition appelle à la fermeture de tous les marchés nationaux où se pratiquent des transactions commerciales d’ivoire brut ou travaillé. La fermeture de tous les marchés intérieurs dans les États de l’aire de répartition, de transit ou de consommation finale réduirait radicalement les possibilités de blanchiment d’ivoire issu du braconnage, sous prétexte qu’il est antique, datant d’avant la Convention ou qu’il a été légalement acquis de toute autre manière. Par ailleurs, une telle mesure renforcerait le message selon lequel il conviendrait de mettre un terme à toutes les ventes d’ivoire, car elles sont dangereuses pour les éléphants.

3. Destruction et gestion des stocks d’ivoire

Cette proposition se base sur deux documents précédents soumis au Comité permanent de la CITES en 2014 et en 2016, qui ont conduit à la reconnaissance par le Comité des destructions des stocks d’ivoire opérées par plusieurs gouvernements depuis 2011, ainsi qu’à une recommandation en vue de rédiger des lignes directrices sur la gestion des stocks. Ce document propose d’approuver la destruction de l’ivoire, d’encourager les normes les plus élevées possibles en matière de gestion des stocks, et demande aux Secrétariat de la CITES de fournir les meilleures orientations techniques possibles sur les inventaires des stocks, leur contrôle, leur gestion et leur élimination, y compris l’échantillonnage de l’ADN en vue de déterminer l’origine des objets.

4. Le Mécanisme de prise de décisions pour un processus de commerce de l’ivoire (MPD) 

La proposition recommande que la CoP mette fin aux discussions sur le MPD. Face aux efforts mondiaux concertés en vue de réduire la demande d’ivoire, l’existence de négociations sur un processus de MPD en vue de légaliser le commerce envoie précisément le mauvais message – à savoir qu’un commerce légal et durable de l’ivoire est possible, et qu’il pourrait être rouvert dans un avenir proche. Le MPD présente non seulement des risques inacceptables pour les éléphants, mais a également suscité des objections valables de la part des Parties à la CITES. Pour preuve, la CITES s’est montrée incapable de réaliser le moindre progrès dans les négociations en 9 ans. 

5. Limiter le commerce d’éléphants vivants

La proposition vise à mettre fin aux exportations d’éléphants d’Afrique hors de leur aire de répartition naturelle, et en particulier les exportations vers des zoos et autres infrastructures de captivité à l’étranger. De telles exportations ne présentent aucun bénéfice direct pour la conservation des éléphants dans les pays de leur aire de répartition (comme le fait remarquer le Groupe de spécialistes de l’éléphant de l’IUCN-SSC), et soulève de nombreuses objections en Afrique pour des raisons éthiques et culturelles. Les éléphants d’Afrique, ainsi que leur ivoire, devraient rester en Afrique.  

 

  • La Coalition pour l’Eléphant d’Afrique a été créée en 2008, à Bamako, au Mali. Elle réunit 29 pays d’Afrique, dont l’objectif commun est d’assurer « une population d’éléphant viable et en bonne santé, libre des menaces du commerce international de l’ivoire ».
  • Les 29 membres de la Coalition pour l’Eléphant d’Afrique sont les suivants : Bénin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroun, République centrafricaine, Tchad, Comores, République démocratique du Congo, République du Congo, Guinée Equatoriale, Erythrée, Ethiopie, Gabon, Ghana, Guinée, Guinée-Bissau, Côte d’Ivoire, Kenya, Libéria, Mali, Mauritanie, Niger, Nigéria, Rwanda, Sénégal, Sierra Leone, Soudan du Sud, Togo et Ouganda. De ces 29 Etats, 26 sont des pays de l’aire de répartition de l’éléphant d’Afrique, ce qui représente la majorité (70%) des 37 pays dans lesquels vivent les éléphants à l’état sauvage.
  • La Fondation Franz Weber (FFW), basée en Suisse, mène un combat actif pour la préservation de la vie sauvage et de la nature en Afrique, et travaille dans le monde entier pour protéger les animaux en tant qu’individus par le biais de la reconnaissance de leurs droits et de l’abolition des pratiques inhumaines. La FFW est partenaire de la Coalition de l’Eléphant d’Afrique depuis sa création en 2008.
  • La Convention sur le commerce international des espèces sauvages de faune et de flore menacées d’extinction (CITES) a été élaborée en 1973, est entrée en force en 1975, et accorde différents degrés de protection à plus de 35'000 espèces d’animaux et de plantes. Actuellement, elle compte 182 Etats-parties. La 17ème Conférence des Parties à la CITES (CoP17) se tiendra à Johannesburg, en Afrique du Sud, du 24 septembre au 5 octobre 2016. La Conférence se réunit tous les trois ans.