06.02.2015 – UN calls on Colombia to exclude children from bullfights

Bogotá, Colombia (February 6th, 2015). The United Nations (UN), through its Committee on the Rights of the Child, one of the nine human rights treaty bodies, has made an explicit pronouncement against the participation and the attendance of children at bullfighting events.

In 2014, Fondation Franz Weber presented a report that called the Committee's attention to bullfighting events taking place in Colombia, during which children and adolescents witness violent spectacles. The report also denounces the existence of bullfighting schools, where children are led to engage in these acts, in violation of the obligations set forth by the International Convention on the Rights of the Child - a binding treaty that is the most widely ratified human rights treaty in history.

The Convention sets out the entitlement of all children to a standard of life that is suitable for their physical, mental, moral and social development, as well as the State's duty to adopt the measures that guarantee said protection to children. This is a requirement that is not fulfilled within the context of bullfighting, as stated by several members of the Committee.

Today the Committee has made public its position regarding the participation and attendance of minors at bullfights.

Natalia Parra, delegate for the Fondation Franz Weber in Colombia, was present at the Palais Wilson in Geneva to observe and participate in the session. At the meeting´s conclusion she stated: "Today we confirm that the violence of bullfighting not only victimizes bulls and horses, but also children and adolescents. In the future we shall realize that we are all victims, in one way or another, of any example of tolerated violence, and all the more so when the violence is applauded".

In reference to the measures that should be taken by the Colombian government, Natalia Parra noted "we are in the midst of a peace process, and this pronouncement could not have come at a better time: peace and respect for life in general is the culture that we should promote to our children". Parra went on to state that the Colombian “Senate has ratified the Convention and this obligates the Executive Branch to its implementation by legislative mandate. As such, the Executive Branch has no other alternative, as it is the guarantor of the rights enshrined in the Convention, while the Committee is in charge of the interpretations. The relevant measures will have to be applied without exception or excuse".

According to statements made by Anna Mulà, lawyer for the Foundation Franz Weber, “The principle of the best interests of the child, at the heart of the Convention, prevails over cultural diversity and over any legitimate interest that may conflict with it”.

 

Read the Final Observations of the Committee here.

06.02.2015 – L’ONU demande à la Colombie d'éloigner les enfants des corridas

Bogotá, Colombie (6 février de 2015) L’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU) s’est prononcée expressément contre la participation et la présence d’enfants lors d’évènements taurins, par la voix du Comité des droits de l’enfant, l’un des 9 organes de traités relatifs aux droits humains.

Durant l’année 2014, la Fondation Franz Weber a présenté au Comité un rapport, attirant son attention sur l’existence en Colombie d’évènements taurins durant lesquels des enfants et adolescents sont témoins de spectacles violents. Le rapport dénonce par ailleurs les écoles de tauromachie, dans le cadre desquelles les enfants participent à de tels actes – une violation des obligations découlant de la Convention internationale relative aux droits de l’enfant.

Cette convention est le traité de droits de l’homme contraignant le  plus ratifié au monde. Elle  consacre le droit de tout mineur à un niveau de vie adéquat pour son développement physique, mental, moral et social, ainsi que l’obligation de l’Etat d’adopter des mesures de protection des enfants. Selon plusieurs membres du Comité, ce droit n’est pas respecté dans le cadre de la tauromachie.

Le Comité a désormais rendu publique sa position relative à la participation et à la présence de mineurs lors d’évènements taurins.

Natalia Parra, déléguée de la Fondation Franz Weber en Colombie, était présente au Palais Wilson à Genève pour assister et participer à la session du Comité. D’après elle, « la violence de la tauromachie n’a pas pour seules victimes les taureaux et les chevaux, mais également les enfants et adolescents. Nous sommes tous victimes, d’une manière ou d’une autre, des modèles de violence tolérés, ou pire encore, applaudis ».

Se référant aux mesures que le gouvernement colombien doit prendre, Natalia Parra poursuit : « nous nous trouvons actuellement dans un processus de paix, et la décision du Comité ne pouvait pas intervenir à un meilleur moment : la paix et le respect de la vie en général sont une culture que nous devons promouvoir depuis le plus jeune âge. Notre Sénat a ratifié la Convention, confiant à notre exécutif  l’obligation de la respecter par mandat législatif. L’exécutif n’a donc pas d’autre possibilité, car il est le garant de la correcte exécution des droits consacrés par la Convention et de l’interprétation qu’en fait le Comité. Les mesures devront être entreprises et appliquées sans exception ou excuse ».

D’après les déclarations d’Anna Mulà, avocate de la Fondation Franz Weber, « le principe de l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant, au cœur de la Convention, prévaut sur la diversité culturelle ou tout autre intérêt légitime qui pourrait entrer en conflit avec ce principe ».

 

Retrouvez les Observations finales du Comité concernant le rapport périodique de la Colombie ici.