11.01.2016 – Hope for elephants in Geneva?

Illegal – and legal – trade in ivory and the rampant killing of African elephants will be a central topic of discussion next week at the 66th meeting of the Standing Committee of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) in Geneva.

Illegal – and legal – trade in ivory and the rampant killing of African elephants will be a central topic of discussion next week at the 66th meeting of the Standing Committee of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) in Geneva.

All populations of African elephants were listed on Appendix I of CITES in 1989, effectively banning international ivory trade.  But the protection was weakened in 1997 and 2000 when populations in four countries (Botswana, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe) were down-listed to Appendix II (a less endangered status) to allow two sales of ivory stockpiles in 1999 and 2008. 

In November, 25 African countries representing the African Elephant Coalition adopted the Cotonou Declaration, calling for a total ban on ivory trade worldwide. 

The CITES Standing Committee oversees the work of the Convention during the two- or three-year periods between its Conferences of the Parties (CoPs).  CITES was established in 1973, entered into force in 1975, and accords varying degrees of protection to more than 35,000 species of animals and plants.  Currently 181 countries are parties to the Convention. CITES CoP17 will be held in Johannesburg from 24 September to 5 October 2016.

We will be reporting from SC66.

11.01.2016 – Espoir pour les éléphants à Genève ?

Le commerce illégal – et légal – de l’ivoire et le massacre effréné des éléphants d’Afrique sont au centre des discussions, cette semaine, lors de la 66ème session du Comité Permanent de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d'extinction (CITES) à Genève.

Le commerce illégal – et légal – de l’ivoire et le massacre effréné des éléphants d’Afrique seront au centre des discussions, cette semaine, lors de la 66ème session du Comité Permanent de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d'extinction (CITES) à Genève.

En 1989, l’ensemble des populations d’éléphant d’Afrique ont été inscrites à l’Annexe I de la CITES, interdisant ainsi de manière efficace tout commerce de l’ivoire. Cependant, cette protection a été affaiblie en 1997, puis en 2000, lorsque les populations d’éléphants de quatre pays (le Botswana, la Namibie, l’Afrique du Sud et le Zimbabwe), ont été déclassées et inscrites à l’Annexe II de la CITES (un statut bénéficiant d’une protection moindre), avec pour résultat deux ventes de stocks d’ivoire en 1999 et 2008.

En novembre dernier, 25 Etats africains, représentant la Coalition pour l’Eléphant d’Afrique, ont adopté la Déclaration de Cotonou, et ont ainsi requis une interdiction mondiale de tout commerce de l’ivoire.

Le Comité permanent de la CITES supervise les travaux au sein de la CITES durant les périodes de deux ou trois ans qui séparent les Conférences des parties (CoPs). La CITES a vu le jour en 1993, est entrée en force en 1975, et accorde différents degrés de protection à plus de 35'000 espèces d’animaux ou de végétaux. A ce jour, 181 pays ont ratifié cette Convention. La CoP17 aura lieu à Johannesburg du 24 septembre au 5 octobre 2016.

La Fondation Franz Weber sera présente à la 66ème session du Comité permanent