4 NOVEMBER 2016 – COP22 FOR THE CLIMATE – FFW IS THERE!

CoP22 on the climate change in Marrakesh: A golden opportunity to the raise awareness of locals and the throngs of visitors on the illegal wildlife trade.

The 22nd session of the Conference of Parties (COP 22) of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) will take place from 7 to 18 November of this year, in Marrakesh, in Morocco.

In partnership with the Moroccan association AGIR, as well as with the High Commissioner for Water and Forests and the Fight Against Desertification ('HCEFLCD'), Fondation Franz Weber (FFW) will be there to run an awareness-raising campaign on the illegal wildlife trade.

FFW, the association AGIR, and the HCEFLCD thus have a stand in the Marrakesh airport to raise passenger awareness concerning illegal wildlife trafficking and its consequences. They are seizing this opportunity, with no less than 30,000 visitors expected in Marrakesh for the two-week conference.

Jemaa el Fna Square, with its enormous arch, is a symbol of Marrakesh. It is a popular tourist spot, known for its traditional folk shows—with snake charmers, monkey tamers, and fortune-tellers. Many animals—Barbary macaques, cobras, vipers, and other kinds of snakes have been snatched from their natural habitats and exhibited to many spectators in public spaces.

Morocco is no exception to the trafficking of some of these species and animal parts. This trade affects many species—elephants for their ivory, Greek tortoises, and grey parrots—meant to become ornamental animals or pets. Like for many other species on the African continent, this trade is a serious threat to their survival.

For example, Barbary macaques (commonly called magot monkeys) can only be found in small areas in Moroccan forests and in Algeria now (there are also a few colonies that are still on the Rock of Gibraltar). In Tunisia, they have recently gone extinct. Thus, due to the pressure on these primates, approximately 1/3 of the individuals of this species disappears every year. To a large extent, there is a similar dynamic for ivory, which strongly impacts African elephant populations.

Moreover, the constantly rising migration from Africa to Europe has led to a surge in ivory trafficking, which thus creates a new channel for this illegal trade.

A month after the end of COP 17 of CITES (Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora)—where the wildlife trade took center stage in the discussions, Fondation Franz Weber will do everything it can to attract the attention of visitors on the impacts of these practices and this trade on the survival of some species and on animal well-being.

We will share this experience with you, as well as our exchanges with the COP 22 participants, and with all the tourists and visitors we will meet.

04.11.2016 – CoP22 pour le Climat – La FFW est sur place !

CoP22 sur le Climat à Marrakech : Une occasion en or de sensibiliser la population locale et les nombreux visiteurs sur le commerce illicite de la faune sauvage.

La 22ème session de la Conférence des Parties (CoP22) à la Convention-cadre des Nations unies sur les changements climatiques (CCNUCC) se déroulera du 7 au 18 novembre prochains à Marrakech au Maroc.

En partenariat avec l'association marocaine Agir, ainsi que le Haut Commissariat aux Eaux et Forêts et à la Lutte contre la Désertification (HCEFLCD), la Fondation Franz Weber (FFW), présente pour l'occasion, effectuera une campagne de sensibilisation portant sur le commerce illégal de la faune sauvage.

À cet effet, la FFW, l'association AGIR ainsi que le HCEFLCD animeront un stand à l'aéroport de Marrakech en vue de sensibiliser les passagers sur la problématique du trafic illicite d'animaux sauvages et ses conséquences, profitant de la venue de pas moins de 30'000 visiteurs attendus à Marrakech durant ces 2 semaines de conférence.

La place Jemaa el-Fna avec son immense marché, symbole de la ville de Marrakech et très prisée des touristes, est connue pour ses spectacles folkloriques, animés entre autres par les charmeurs de serpents, les dresseurs de singes ou encore les diseurs de bonne aventure. Ainsi, que ce soient des macaques de Barbarie, des cobras, des vipères ou des couleuvres, nombreux sont les animaux arrachés de leurs milieux naturels et exhibés aux nombreux spectateurs sur la place publique.

Le Maroc n'échappe pas par ailleurs à la problématique du trafic de certaines espèces ou de parties d'animaux. Parmi les espèces principalement touchées par ce commerce, on peut notamment citer les éléphants pour leur ivoire, les tortues mauresques ou les perroquets gris du Gabon, destinés à être des animaux d'ornement ou de compagnie. À l'instar de bon nombre d'autres espèces sur le continent africain, ce commerce menace particulièrement leur survie.

Le macaque de Barbarie (communément appelé singe magot) par exemple, n'est aujourd'hui plus présent que dans de petites zones des forêts marocaines, en Algérie (quelques colonies restantes sur le rocher de Gibraltar), et il a récemment disparu en Tunisie. Ainsi, en raison de la pression exercée sur ces primates, environ 1/3 des individus de l'espèce disparaît chaque année. Et la dynamique est sensiblement pareille pour le cas de l'ivoire, dont le trafic impacte fortement les populations d'éléphants d'Afrique.

En outre, le flux migratoire depuis l'Afrique vers l'Europe a induit une recrudescence du trafic de l'ivoire, créant ainsi une nouvelle voie pour ce commerce illicite.

À un mois de la clôture de la CoP17 de la CITES (Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et flore en danger d'extinction) où le commerce de la faune sauvage était au centre des débats, la Fondation Franz Weber fera tout son possible pour attirer l'attention des visiteurs sur les conséquences qu'ont ces pratiques et ce commerce sur la survie de certaines espèces et le bien être des animaux.

Nous ne manquerons pas de partager avec vous cette expérience, ainsi que nos échanges avec les participants à la CoP22 et tous les touristes et les visiteurs que nous rencontrerons.