Lavaux (Switzerland)

The terraced vineyards found on the shores of Lake Geneva between Lausanne and Vevey are, just like Engadin and the Alpilles, one of the most beautiful landscapes in the world.

In 1972, the winemakers called on Franz Weber to help them fight a development project that would disfigure their vineyards. As soon as he learnt of the situation, Franz Weber created the Save Lavaux Association, and in February 1973 he launched a popular initiative to add the definitive protection of the entire Lavaux vineyards area to the Vaud Constitution. On 12 June 1977, the population of Vaud accepted Franz Weber's initiative with 56.8% of votes. The protection of Lavaux was therefore officially inscribed in the Vaud Constitution, Article 6b. In 1979, this provision was confirmed with the Lavaux Protection Law (LLavaux). The protection of the vineyards seemed guaranteed.

However, during the revision of the Vaud Constitution in 2002, article 6b was repealed. Meanwhile, Lavaux proceeded to be covered with concrete. To put an end to the disfigurement of the region, a second Save Lavaux initiative was launched, demanding the reintroduction of its protection into the Constitution. It was accepted with a large majority (81% of votes) by the people of Vaud in 2005.

 

Article 52a of the Vaud Constitution

1. The region of Lavaux, from Lutrive to Corsier, is declared a protected site.

2. Any violation of this protection may result in administrative or judicial action by those facing losses and by organisations for the protection of nature and natural heritage.

3. The implementation act shall comply fully with the perimeter in force, particularly in maintaining the wine-growing area and the traditional character of the villages and hamlets.

 

In 2007, the area was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. However, this listing does not have any legally enforceable value and has only fuelled developers' desire. Lavaux remains a region under serious pressure from developers. After all, who wouldn't want to live there? The local officials, responsible for implementing the constitutional protection of the area, have neither the will, nor the means, to curb this pressure and enforce the protection of the vineyards.

Recognising this growing problem, the Save Lavaux Association, with its president Franz Weber, launched a third Save Lavaux initiative, this time legislative, in 2009, to make the legislation protecting Lavaux more restrictive and binding. After attempting, in vain, to invalidate this initiative, the regional authorities proposed a counter-project, presented as a 'compromise'. On 18 May 2014, the initiative "Save Lavaux III" was rejected by the people of Vaud in favour of the government's counter-project.

The Save Lavaux Association must therefore continue its work monitoring the situation and engaging with local authorities to avoid these magnificent vineyards being sacrificed to the property developers.

Lavaux (Suisse)

Le vignoble en terrasse situé sur les bords du Lac Léman entre Lausanne et Vevey appartient, comme l’Engadine et les Alpilles, aux paysages les plus beaux du monde.

En 1972, les vignerons de la région font appel à Franz Weber ; leur vignoble va être défiguré par un projet immobilier. Aussitôt informé de la situation, Franz Weber crée l’association Sauver Lavaux et lance en février 1973 une initiative populaire visant à introduire dans la Constitution vaudoise une protection définitive de l’entier du territoire de Lavaux. Le 12 juin 1977, le peuple vaudois accepte l’initiative de Franz Weber à 56.8% des voix : une protection de Lavaux est officiellement inscrite à l’art. 6bis de la Constitution vaudoise, et en 1979 cette disposition est concrétisée par la Loi sur le plan de protection de Lavaux (LLavaux).

La protection du vignoble semble alors assurée. Mais l’art. 6bis est abrogé lors de la révision de la Constitution vaudoise en 2002… Pendant ce temps, le bétonnage se poursuit en Lavaux. Pour stopper la défiguration de la région, une deuxième initiative «Sauver Lavaux» voit le jour, exigeant la réintroduction de cette protection dans la Constitution. Elle est largement plébiscitée par les Vaudois (à 81 % des voix) en 2005.

 

Art. 52a de la Constitution vaudoise

1. La région de Lavaux, de la Lutrive à Corsier, est déclarée site protégé.

2. Toute atteinte à sa protection peut être attaquée sur le plan administratif ou judiciaire par ceux qui sont lésés et par les associations de protection de la nature et celles de la protection du patrimoine.

3. La loi d’application respecte strictement le périmètre en vigueur, notamment par le maintien de l’aire viticole et du caractère traditionnel des villages et hameaux.

 

En 2007, le site est inscrit au Patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. Toutefois, cette inscription n'a aucune valeur contraignante et ne fait qu’alimenter les convoitises... Lavaux reste une région particulièrement victime de la pression immobilière. Qui en effet ne voudrait pas vivre en Lavaux ? Les Communes, chargées de la mise en œuvre de la protection constitutionnelle, manquent de volonté et de moyens pour endiguer cette pression et protéger concrètement le vignoble.

Constatant cette problématique croissante, l’association Sauver Lavaux, présidée par Franz Weber, lance en 2009 une troisième initiative Sauver Lavaux, législative cette fois, afin de rendre plus contraignante la LLavaux. Après une tentative vaine de faire invalider l’initiative, les autorités cantonales lui opposent un contre-projet, présenté comme un « compromis ». Le 18 mai 2014, l’initiative « Sauver Lavaux III » est rejetée par les Vaudois, qui lui préfèrent le contre-projet du gouvernement.

L’association Sauver Lavaux doit donc poursuivre son travail de surveillance et de dialogue avec les autorités communales pour éviter que ce magnifique vignoble en terrasse ne soit sacrifié au bénéfice des promoteurs immobiliers.

Pour de plus amples informations et des témoignages sur notre campagne pour sauver le Lavaux, vous trouverez ci-dessous trois articles parus dans de précédents numéros du Journal Franz Weber (JFW) :

JFW108_2014_Lavaux_FR_Vaud
JFW107_2014_Lavaux_FR_Franz_Weber
JFW105_2013_Lavaux_FR_Sauver_Lavaux_III

Actualités

01.01.2018 – Bonne année!

VOIR TOUTES