Protection of Historic Sites

Helvetia Nostra and the FFW, like their renowned founder Franz Weber, are passionate about the preservation of historic Swiss sites and monuments. Through political processes, discussions with authorities and legal proceedings, Helvetia Nostra fights to protect the historic heritage of Switzerland.

This is how Helvetia Nostra has successfully led different campaigns to protect the Château de l’Aile, in Vevey, so that it remains a public property. In the same way, it used legal processes to avoid the demolition of the Hôtel Schweizerhof in Interlaken in the canton of Bern. Unfortunately, the Federal Court did not support Helvetia Nostra's position in this case. In Les Avents (canton of Vaud), Helvetia Nostra's actions to protect the Hôtel de Sonloup enabled the adoption of a conversion and extension project which is both reasonable and respectful of the building's architecture.

The "Giessbach dem Schweizervolk" (Giessbach for the Swiss People) foundation was created in 1983 by environmental activist Franz Weber and his association Helvetia Nostra in order to protect the Grandhotel Giessbach, situated above Lake Brienz, from demolition. Thanks to an unparalleled fundraising campaign as well as support from the community of Brienz and the canton of Bern, the foundation was able to take over the Hotel Giessbach. The estate is still owned by the foundation today. Parkhotel Giessbach AG was subsequently founded in order to manage the hotel, which it has done with resounding success for over 30 years.

Further information on the foundation "Giessbach dem Schweizervolk“: http://www.stiftung-giessbach.ch/giessbach-for-the-swiss-people-foundation.html

Protection des sites historiques

Helvetia Nostra et la FFW, à l’instar de leur célèbre fondateur Franz Weber, sont très attachées à la préservation des sites et monuments historiques suisses. Par le biais de mécanismes politiques, de discussions avec les autorités et de procédures judiciaires, Helvetia Nostra lutte pour protéger le patrimoine historique helvétique.

C’est ainsi qu’Helvetia Nostra a mené avec succès différentes actions pour que le Château de l’Aile, à Vevey, soit protégé et qu’il demeure un bien public. De même, elle a agi par la voie judiciaire pour éviter la démolition de l’Hôtel Schweizerhof à Interlaken dans le canton de Berne. Malheureusement, le Tribunal fédéral n’a pas suivi la position d’Helvetia Nostra dans cette affaire. Aux Avents (VD), l’action d’Helvetia Nostra pour protéger l’Hôtel de Sonloup a permis l’adoption d’un projet de transformation et d’extension raisonnable et respectueux de l’architecture du bâtiment.

Afin d’éviter en 1983 que le Grandhotel Giessbach qui surplombe le lac de Brienz ne soit rasé, le défenseur de l’environnement Franz Weber et son association Helvetia Nostra ont créé la fondation « Giessbach au peuple suisse ». Après un afflux de dons sans précédent, elle a pu reprendre l’hôtel Giessbach avec l’aide de la commune de Brienz et du canton de Berne. Le domaine est encore en possession de la fondation aujourd’hui. Pour sa gestion, la société Parkhotel Giessbach SA a été fondée et exploite l’établissement avec succès depuis maintenant plus de 30 ans.

Pour en savoir plus sur la fondation « Giessbach au peuple suisse » : http://www.stiftung-giessbach.ch/La_Fondation_Giessbach_au_peuple_suisse.html

Actualités

« Une Suisse de fer et de béton »
01.01.2018 – Bonne année!
21.05.2017 – Stratégie énergétique 2050 : Pas au détriment de la nature et du paysage

VOIR TOUTES