Consultants and Experts

Consultants assist Fondation Franz Weber (FFW) in its work and various campaigns.

Hedia Baccar
Wildlife Consultant with regard to CITES and focal point for the African Elephant Coalition for FFW 


Expert in environmental protection and endangered wild species.

Hedia Baccar has extensive experience in environmental protection and international relations. In particular, she represented Tunisia in the negotiation of several environmental agreements, MEAs, and the Mediterranean Action Plan. She also led her country's delegation at CITES.

After several years with the IFAW (International Fund for Animal Welfare), Hedia Baccar joined Fondation Franz Weber in 2014. She is working actively for the protection of African elephants and wildlife in general.


Patricia Awori
Consultant for the protection of the African elephant 


Born in Nairobi, Pat holds a B.A. degree in International Relations, with a minor in behavioral sciences.

Director of Pan-African Wildlife Conservation Network, she is also founder and Chair of the Kenya Elephant Forum, a member of the East African Wildlife Society, and collaborated in establishing the African Elephant Coalition and the Kenya Elephant Forum, both influential advocacy groups in the campaign for the preservation of elephants.

As an expert in wildlife conservation, and in particular the protection of elephants, Pat advises the FFW in its work in favour of the African elephant. Her vast experience is an invaluable asset to the Foundation.


Rosalind Reeve
Senior Legal Advisor to Fondation Franz Weber on CITES and the protection of African elephants


Originally from the UK, Rosalind Reeve is an environmental lawyer, campaigner and political strategist. Her 27 years experience ranges from field investigations into wildlife trafficking in Africa and Asia to influencing international environmental policy and law through active engagement in CITES and other international conventions. She has been campaigning to protect elephants from ivory trade since 1988, when her work took her to Kenya and Tanzania where she witnessed first hand the impacts of rampant poaching and trafficking on African elephants. Rosalind also works on climate and forest policy, and has been at the forefront of the campaign to prevent deforestation through action under the climate change convention for the last six years.

Dr Reeve is author of the textbook, Policing International Trade in Endangered Species: the CITES Treaty and Compliance. She has a master’s degree in environmental law from the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, and a PhD in biochemistry from University College London.


Rémy Ledauphin
Consultant in management of protected areas and wildlife


Rémy is a trained ecologist and geographer, of French origin. For almost 20 years he has been working to preserve the African wildlife.

He has worked in various protected areas and on various conservation programs in Central and West Africa. He has successfully delivered consulting in Africa in the field of management and co-management of protected areas and peripheral areas, community management of natural resources and protected areas, conflict humans-animals, environmental education, environmental monitoring, and ecotourism. The fight against poaching is his main speciality.
 




Back

Conseillers et experts

Des conseillers apportent une aide précieuse à la Fondation Franz Weber (FFW) dans toutes ses campagnes.

Hedia Baccar
Conseillère en faune sauvage dans le cadre de la CITES et point focal pour la FFW auprès de la Coalition pour l’Éléphant d’Afrique


Experte en matière de protection de l’environnement et des espèces sauvages menacées d’extinction.

Hedia Baccar dispose d’une longue expérience en matière de protection de l’environnement et de relations internationales. Elle a notamment représenté la Tunisie pour la négociation de plusieurs accords environnementaux, MEA’s, le Plan d’Action pour la Méditerranée. Elle représentait également son pays au sein de la CITES, en qualité de Chef de délégation.

Après une dizaine d’années auprès d’IFAW (le Fond International pour la protection des animaux), Hedia Baccar a rejoint la Fondation Franz Weber en 2014. Elle travaille activement à la protection de l’éléphant d’Afrique.


Patricia Awori
Conseillère en protection de l'éléphant d'Afrique


Née à Nairobi, au Kenya, Pat est titulaire d'un diplôme de Bachelor en relations internationales, avec une mineure en sciences comportementales.

Directrice du Pan-African Wildlife Conservation Network, elle a également fondé et préside actuellement le Forum kenyan pour les éléphants. Elle est membre de l'East African Wildlife Society et a collaboré à la création de la Coalition pour l'Elephant d'Afrique, deux groupements politiques très influentiels en matière de protection des éléphants.

Experte en protection animale et en particulier des éléphants, Pat conseille la FFW dans le cadre de son activité en faveur de l'éléphant d'Afrique. Sa grande expérience est un atout majeur pour la Fondation.


Rosalind Reeve
Conseillère juridique pour la Fondation Franz Weber en matière de CITES et de la protection des éléphants d’Afrique


Originaire du Royaume-Uni, Rosalind Reeve est une avocate spécialisée en droit de l’environnement, une militante et une experte en stratégie politique. En 27 ans de pratique, elle a mené des investigations sur le trafic d’espèces sauvages en Afrique et en Asie, a participé à l’élaboration des politiques et des lois environnementales internationales et s’est activement engagée au sein de la CITES et d’autres conventions internationales. Elle mène des campagnes de protection des éléphants contre le commerce de l’ivoire depuis 1988, travaillant en particulier au Kenya et en Tanzanie, où elle assiste aux premières loges au braconnage et trafic effrénés que subissent les éléphants d’Afrique. Ces six dernières années, Rosalind travaille également sur les politiques climatiques et forestières. Elle collabore intensément à une campagne pour empêcher la déforestation en application de la Convention sur les changements climatiques.

Rosalind est l’auteur du livre « Policing International Trade in Endangered Species: the CITES Treaty and Compliance ». Elle est titulaire d’un Master en droit de l’environnement, obtenu auprès de la faculté des études orientales et africaines de l’Université de Londres, ainsi que d’un Doctorat en bio-chimie de l’University College London.


Rémy Ledauphin
Consultant en gestion des aires protégées et de la faune sauvage


D’origine française, Rémy est de formation écologue et géographe. Il œuvre à la conservation de la faune africaine depuis bientôt 20 ans.

Il a travaillé sur différentes aires protégées et programme de conservation d’Afrique centrale et occidentale et a réalisé des missions de consultance aux quatre coins de l’Afrique qu’elle soit francophone ou anglophone, sur des thématiques aussi diverses que la gestion et co-gestion d’aires protégées et de zones périphériques, la gestion communautaires des ressources naturelles et des aires protégées, les conflits homme-faune, l’éducation environnementale, le suivi écologique, l’écotourisme ou bien encore la lutte anti-braconnage, qui constitue l’une de ses grandes spécialités.




Retour