The issue

The sale of ivory stocks in 1997 and 2008 was supposed to stem the tide of poaching, to aid efforts to protect elephants. Unfortunately, the exact opposite happened: demand for ivory was stoked once more and it triggered an epidemic of elephant poaching over the following few years.

Between 2007 and 2014 alone, at least 144,000 elephants were slaughtered. An unprecedented ecological, economic and social tragedy for the countries of Africa. Elephants are a tourist attraction and an iconic symbol with a corresponding economic value.

Our project

The predicament for African elephants, expressed economically, lies in the fact that they continue to be “measured” by the retail value of their ivory, even though this is in reality a black-market value.

Therefore, our goal – again from an economic perspective – is to show that a live elephant is worth far more, year after year, than the one-off proceeds from the ivory sale of a dead elephant, which is taken out of the country anyway by poachers and traders.

For this reason, Fondation Franz Weber is working on an incentive programme for the African “elephant states” to increase the value of live elephants through tourism: “EleWatch”. We are also collaborating on a study of anti-poaching programmes in African reserves in an effort to assess the steps taken and to introduce improvements.

Our goals

  • Comprehensive international protection of all elephants living in the wild
  • Evaluate anti-poaching programmes in African reserves
  • Demonstrate that each live elephant in Africa is worth more, economically speaking, than the ivory from a dead one

News

Facts and Figures

* * *

0 elephants
ONCE LIVED IN AFRICA. TODAY THERE ARE FEWER THAN 350,000
0 per cent
OF ELEPHANT POPULATIONS HAVE DROPPED BETWEEN 2007 AND 2014 ALONE
0 elephants
WERE POACHED IN AFRICA BETWEEN 2007 AND 2014

La problématique

Les ventes d’ivoire ancien en 1997 et 2008 auraient dû, théoriquement, contribuer à endiguer le braconnage pour une meilleure protection des éléphants. C’est exactement le contraire qui s’est passé : la demande d’ivoire a été relancée et une véritable épidémie de braconnage a débuté au cours des années suivantes.

Rien qu’entre 2007 et 2014, 144 000 éléphants au moins ont été abattus. Pour les pays africains, c’est une tragédie sans précédent, écologique, mais aussi spirituelle et économique. Car les éléphants sont un « aimant à touristes » et le symbole emblématique de ces pays, sans même parler de leur valeur économique.

Notre projet

Le drame des éléphants d’Afrique, sur le plan économique, c’est qu’ils sont encore évalués selon le prix de vente de leur ivoire, même si c’est un prix sur le marché noir.

Or, l’objectif devrait être – toujours sur le plan économique – de faire comprendre aux pays africains où vivent des éléphants sauvages qu’un éléphant vivant rapporte davantage, chaque année, que le produit unique de la vente de ses défenses d’un éléphant mort, d’autant plus si elles sont sorties du pays par les braconniers et les trafiquants.

C’est pourquoi la Fondation Franz Weber travaille à un programme destiné aux « États à éléphants » pour accroître la valeur des éléphants vivants par le tourisme (« EleWatch »), ainsi qu’à une étude partenaire sur les programmes de lutte contre le braconnage dans les zones protégées d’Afrique afin d’évaluer les mesures prises et d’apporter des améliorations.

Nos objectifs

  • La protection totale et internationale de tous les éléphants sauvages
  • L’évaluation des programmes de lutte contre le braconnage dans les zones protégées d’Afrique
  • La preuve qu’un éléphant vivant en Afrique a plus de valeur, sur le plan économique aussi, que les défenses d’un éléphant mort

actualités

Faits et chiffres

* * *

0 éléphants
vivaient autrefois en Afrique. Ils sont aujourd’hui moins de 350 000
0 pour cent
des populations d’éléphants ont disparu rien qu’entre 2007 et 2014
0 éléphants
ont été victimes du braconnage entre 2007 et 2014 en Afrique