The issue

In 1874/75, a grand hotel of incomparable charm was built on an equally incomparable spot at the famous Giessbach Falls, above Lake Brienz in the Bernese Oberland. It exerted a powerful allure for visitors from far beyond the country’s borders.

By the outbreak of the First World War in 1914, the Giessbach had become a meeting point for crowned heads of state, their entourages, statesmen, diplomats and celebrated artists, who spent their time recuperating strength, making plans and exchanging gossip.

Two world wars with disastrous consequences for the Swiss hotel trade, as well as a new approach to tourism, faded the glory of the Giessbach. In 1979, after years of decline, the hotel closed its doors. In its place were plans to build a modern concrete building in the style of a “jumbo chalet”.

Our project

Salvation came at the last minute in 1983. The internationally renowned environmental campaigner, animal welfare activist and heritage protector Franz Weber worked a miracle. Thanks to his remarkable fundraising campaign and the foundation he established the “Stiftung Giessbach dem Schweizervolk” (Giessbach for the Swiss People). Weber succeeded in purchasing the 22-hectare Giessbach estate and had it placed under a preservation order.

His idea to “gift” the Giessbach to the Swiss people, thereby preserving it for all time, met with great enthusiasm among the public. To finance the necessary renovations and operating costs of the hotel, Franz Weber founded a shareholders company, the Parkhotel Giessbach AG, and in May 1984 he re-opened the hotel with a new restaurant, the “Parkrestaurant”, and a small number of unrenovated rooms.

Complete renovation of the hotel took place over several stages, and today it is one of the most beautiful and renowned establishments in the Swiss hospitality industry.

Our goals

  • Preserve the Giessbach for all time
  • Care for, maintain and enhance the unique natural area
  • Promote cultural events
  • Return the park to its historical site

Facts and Figures

* * *

0 square kilometres
FOREST, MEADOW, GARDENS AND UNIQUE LIVING SPACE FOR HUMAN AND ANIMAL BELONG TO THE GIESSBACH
0 years old
THE GIESSBACH’S FUNICULAR RAILWAY ‒ THE OLDEST IN EUROPE
0 built
AND SAVED IN 1983: THE GRANDHOTEL GIESSBACH

Die Problematik

1874/75 wurde an den berühmten Giessbachfällen über dem Brienzersee im Berner Oberland ein Grandhotel von unvergleichlichem Charme an einem ebenso einzigartigen Standort erbaut. Dessen Anziehungskraft strahlte weit über die Landesgrenzen hinaus.

Bis zum Kriegsausbruch von 1914 gaben sich im Giessbach gekrönte Häupter mit ihrem Gefolge, Staatsmänner, Diplomaten und gefeierte Künstler die Klinke in die Hand, schöpften Kraft, schmiedeten Pläne und tauschten Klatsch.

Zwei Weltkriege mit ihren Folgen für die Schweizer Hotellerie und ein verändertes Tourismusverständnis liessen den Glanz des Giessbach verblassen. Nach jahrelangem Niedergang schloss die Anlage 1979 ihre Pforten. An deren Stelle sollte ein modernes Betongebäude im Stil eines «Jumbo-Chalets» errichtet werden.

Unser Projekt

Doch 1983 kam die Rettung in letzter Minute. Der damals schon längst international bekannte Umwelt-, Tier- und Heimatschützer Franz Weber schaffte das Wunder. Dank seiner einmaligen Spendenaktion und der von ihm gegründeten «Stiftung Giessbach dem Schweizervolk» erwarb er die Giessbach-Domäne samt ihren 22 Hektaren Grundeigentum und stellte sie unter Denkmalschutz.

Seine Idee, das Giessbach dem Schweizervolk zu «schenken» und es dadurch unversehrt zu erhalten, fand in der Bevölkerung begeisterten Zuspruch. Zur Finanzierung der notwendigen Renovationen und zum Betrieb des Hotels gründete Franz Weber die Parkhotel Giessbach AG, und eröffnete im Mai 1984 das Haus mit einem neuen Restaurant, dem «Parkrestaurant», und einer kleinen Anzahl noch unrenovierter Zimmer.

In mehreren Umbauetappen wurde das Hotel von Grund auf renoviert und zählt heute wieder zu den schönsten und renommiertesten Häusern im Schweizer Gastgewerbe.

Unsere Ziele

  • Das Giessbach für alle Zeiten unversehrt erhalten
  • Die einmalige Naturanlage pflegen, erhalten und verschönern
  • Die Förderung von kulturellen Anlässen
  • Die Rückführung des Parks in seine historische Anlage

Zahlen und Fakten

* * *

0 Quadratkilometer
Wald, Wiesen, Gärten und einmalige Lebensräume für Mensch und Tier gehören zum Giessbach
0 Jahre
ist die zum Giessbach gehörende Standseilbahn - die älteste Europas
0 erbaut
und 1983 gerettet: das Grandhotel Giessbach