The issue

In 1972, the vineyards of Lavaux were facing destruction by a construction project. In response, Franz Weber founded the association “Sauver Lavaux” (“Save Lavaux”), and in February 1973 he launched a popular initiative with the aim of adding a passage to the Vaud Constitution that would afford definitive protection to the entire Lavaux area.

In 1977, the people of Vaud voted in favour of the initiative! The protection of Lavaux was officially inscribed in the canton’s constitution in Article 6b, and the provision was confirmed in 1979 with the “Loi sur le plan de protection de Lavaux” (Lavaux Protection Law).

Yet attempts by the real estate industry to build over the Lavaux, thereby blighting this beautiful region, continued. The “Sauver Lavaux” association was forced to intervene several more times to curtail this.

Our project

When the Vaud Constitution was revised in 2002, Article 6b was repealed. Concrete encroachment began to rear its head in the Lavaux once more. So, Franz Weber devised a second “Sauver Lavaux” initiative, demanding that protection of the area be reintroduced in the constitution. In 2005, the move was accepted by the people of Vaud with 81 per cent of the vote.

However, this was not the end of the story: In 2007, the wine region was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Unfortunately, the listing is not legally binding and only fuelled developers’ appetites. “Sauver Lavaux” launched a legislative initiative in 2009 to achieve stronger legal force, to which the cantonal authorities submitted a counter proposal. On 18 May 2014, the people of Vaud voted in favour of this counter proposal.

The “Sauver Lavaux” association must therefore continue its work monitoring and engaging with local authorities to prevent this unique wine region from falling victim to the greed of the construction companies.

Our goals

  • Preserve Lavaux and its terraced vineyards against overbuilding, thus conserving the winegrowing region. Save one of the finest landscapes in the world from destruction and assure the quality of life of many people living in the region
  • Save one of the finest landscapes in the world from destruction
  • Assure the quality of life of many people living in the region

Facts and Figures

* * *

0 Franz Weber
LAUNCHES THE RESCUE OF THE LAVAUX REGION
0 initiatives
WERE NECESSARY TO PROTECT THE LAVAUX REGION FROM BEING CONCRETED OVER
0 the Lavaux Region
IS DECLARED A UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE SITE

Die Problematik

1972 sollen die Weinberge in Lavaux durch ein Bauvorhaben verunstaltet werden. Franz Weber gründet die Vereinigung «Sauver Lavaux» und lanciert im Februar 1973 eine Volksinitiative mit dem Ziel, einen Passus über den definitiven Schutz des gesamten Gebiets von Lavaux in die Waadtländer Verfassung einzuführen.

1977 nimmt das Waadtländer Stimmvolk die Initiative an! Der Schutz des Lavaux wird offiziell in Artikel 6bis der Verfassung des Kantons verankert, und die Bestimmung 1979 durch die «Loi sur le plan de protection de Lavaux» konkretisiert.

Doch die Versuche der Immobilienindustrie, das Lavaux zu überbauen und damit die wunderschöne Region zu verunstalten, dauern an. Die Vereinigung «Sauver Lavaux» muss noch mehrere Male einschreiten, um dem Einhalt zu gebieten.

Unser Projekt

Bei der Überarbeitung der Waadtländer Verfassung im Jahr 2002 wird der Artikel 6bis ausser Kraft gesetzt. Währenddessen schreitet die Überbauung im Lavaux voran. So ruft Franz Weber eine zweite Initiative «Rettet das Lavaux» ins Leben. Sie fordert die Wiedereinführung des Schutzes in die Verfassung und wird 2005 von den Waadtländern mit 81 Prozent der Stimmen angenommen.

Die Ruhe währt nicht lange. 2007 wird das Weingebiet in die Liste des UNESCO-Welterbes aufgenommen. Sie ist indes nicht rechtsverbindlich und weckt Begehrlichkeiten. «Sauver Lavaux» lanciert 2009 eine Gesetzesinitiative, um eine stärkere Rechtsverbindlichkeit zu erreichen. Die kantonalen Behörden unterbreiten einen Gegenvorschlag. Am 18. Mai 2014 geben die Waadtländer dem Gegenvorschlag den Vorzug.

Die Vereinigung «Sauver Lavaux» setzt ihre Arbeit der Überwachung und des Dialogs mit den kommunalen Behörden fort, um zu verhindern, dass das einmalige Weingebiet der Gier von Bauunternehmen zum Opfer fällt.

Unsere Ziele

  • Lavaux mit seinen terrassierten Rebbergen vor der Überbauung bewahren und damit das Weinbaugebiet erhalten
  • Eine der schönsten Landschaften weltweit vor der Zerstörung retten
  • Die Lebensqualität vieler in der Region lebender Menschen sichern

Zahlen und Fakten

* * *

0 initiiert
Franz Weber die Rettung des Lavaux-Gebietes
0 Initiativen
waren nötig, um das Lavaux-Gebiet vor der Zubetonierung zu schützen
0 wird
das Weingebiet Lavaux zum Unesco-Welterbe erklärt