The issue

For hundreds of years, zoos have put animals on show. Even human beings were exhibited until the mid 20th century. The lure of something “different”, something “exotic” or “spectacular” have always excited people.

Changing social values, however, meant increased moral pressure on zoos. They responded with larger enclosures and assurances of providing “education” and “raising awareness”, as well as an involvement in the drive for “species protection” and “habitat protection”.

But zoos have remained commercial institutions, doing very little for education, species survival or habitat protection. Quite the opposite, in fact. Animals captured from the wild for zoos and aquariums is an activity that continues to harm nature and animals. In Europe alone, zoos kill around 5,000 “surplus” animals born each year.

Our project

In response, we conceived the project “ZOOXXI”. Animal welfare campaigners and environmental activists linked to Fondation Franz Weber (FFW) as well as 40 professors from disciplines ranging from biology and veterinary medicine to ethics, business, communication and law are all working on the project. To start with, a 360° analysis of zoos will be conducted from all perspectives, to develop findings and guidelines.

Killings, overcrowded cages, and all the suffering that goes with this should be a thing of the past. The ZOOXXI concept does not seek to close zoos, but to turn them into something very different. This requires a genuine education and research programme, with animal protection, species protection and habitat protection always remaining the primary goal.

The idea is to only house local animals, and exclusively within the framework of species preservation projects. Other than this, ZOOXXI sites will be dedicated to caring for confiscated and injured animals until a better home can be found for them.

Our goals

  • Preserve natural habitats
  • Species protection within natural habitats
  • Use educational schemes to foster compassion for animals
  • Establish scientific expertise with the aim of protecting nature
  • Stemming the birth of "surplus" animals in zoos

Facts and Figures

* * *

0 a travelling circus
IN AARAU WAS STILL EXHIBITING PEOPLE
0 ZOOXXI
CONCEPT GOES PUBLIC IN BARCELONA FOR THE FIRST TIME
0 animals
ARE KILLED AS "SURPLUS" EVERY YEAR IN EUROPEAN ZOOS ALONE

Die Problematik

Seit Jahrhunderten stellen Zoos Tiere zur Schau. Selbst Menschen wurden bis Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts ausgestellt. «Andersartigkeit», «Exotik» und «Spektakel» lockte die Menschen an.

Mit veränderten Gesellschaftswerten wuchs der moralische Druck auf die Zoos. Diese reagierten mit vergrösserten Gehegen und der Beteuerung, «Bildung» und «Sensibilisierung» zu vermitteln, sowie sich an «Artenschutz» und «Lebensraumschutz» zu beteiligen.

Doch Zoos sind kommerzielle Institutionen geblieben, die sehr wenig für Bildung, Arterhaltung und Lebensraumschutz tun. Im Gegenteil: Wildfänge für Zoos und Aquarien schädigen weiterhin die Natur und Tierwelt. Und allein in Europa töten Zoos Jahr für Jahr rund 5000 «überschüssig» geborene Tiere.

Unser Projekt

Als Reaktion haben wir das Projekt «ZOOXXI» ins Leben gerufen. Tier- und Umweltschützer im Umfeld der Fondation Franz Weber (FFW) sowie etwa 40 Professoren aus Fachrichtungen wie Biologie, Tiermedizin, Ethik, Wirtschaft, Kommunikation und Recht arbeiten daran. Zunächst erfolgt eine 360°-Analyse der Zoos aus allen Blickwinkeln, um Ergebnisse und Leitfäden zu erarbeiten.

Tötungen, überfüllte Käfige und das damit verbundene Tierleid soll der Vergangenheit angehören. Tierparks sollen nicht geschlossen, unter dem Konzept von «ZOOXXI» aber völlig umgestaltet werden. Dazu gehört ein echter Bildungs- und Forschungsauftrag, immer den Tier-, Arten- und Lebensraumschutz vor Augen.

Gehalten werden nur noch einheimische Tiere. Und auch diese nur im Rahmen von Arterhaltungsprojekten. Ansonsten sollen ZOOXXI-Anlagen der Pflege von beschlagnahmten und verletzten Tieren dienen, bis ein besserer Lebensort für sie gefunden ist.

Unsere Ziele

  • Bewahrung natürlicher Lebensräume
  • Artenschutz innerhalb der natürlichen Lebensräume
  • Vermittlung von Mitgefühl für die Tiere als Bildungsauftrag
  • Schaffung von wissenschaftlicher Expertise mit dem Ziel des Naturschutzes
  • Eindämmung der Geburten von «überschüssigen» Tieren in Zoos

Zahlen und Fakten

* * *

0 stellt
ein Wanderzirkus in Aarau noch Menschen aus
0 ZOOXXI
wird in Barcelona erstmals als Konzept der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt
0 Tiere
werden jedes Jahr allein in europäischen Zoo's als "überzählig" getötet