The issue

In 1874/75, a grand hotel of incomparable charm was built on an equally incomparable spot at the famous Giessbach Falls, above Lake Brienz in the Bernese Oberland. It exerted a powerful allure for visitors from far beyond the country’s borders.

By the outbreak of the First World War in 1914, the Giessbach had become a meeting point for crowned heads of state, their entourages, statesmen, diplomats and celebrated artists, who spent their time recuperating strength, making plans and exchanging gossip.

Two world wars with disastrous consequences for the Swiss hotel trade, as well as a new approach to tourism, faded the glory of the Giessbach. In 1979, after years of decline, the hotel closed its doors. In its place were plans to build a modern concrete building in the style of a “jumbo chalet”.

Our project

Salvation came at the last minute in 1983. The internationally renowned environmental campaigner, animal welfare activist and heritage protector Franz Weber worked a miracle. Thanks to his remarkable fundraising campaign and the foundation he established the “Stiftung Giessbach dem Schweizervolk” (Giessbach for the Swiss People). Weber succeeded in purchasing the 22-hectare Giessbach estate and had it placed under a preservation order.

His idea to “gift” the Giessbach to the Swiss people, thereby preserving it for all time, met with great enthusiasm among the public. To finance the necessary renovations and operating costs of the hotel, Franz Weber founded a shareholders company, the Parkhotel Giessbach AG, and in May 1984 he re-opened the hotel with a new restaurant, the “Parkrestaurant”, and a small number of unrenovated rooms.

Complete renovation of the hotel took place over several stages, and today it is one of the most beautiful and renowned establishments in the Swiss hospitality industry.

Our goals

  • Preserve the Giessbach for all time
  • Care for, maintain and enhance the unique natural area
  • Promote cultural events
  • Return the park to its historical site

Facts and Figures

* * *

0 square kilometres
FOREST, MEADOW, GARDENS AND UNIQUE LIVING SPACE FOR HUMAN AND ANIMAL BELONG TO THE GIESSBACH
0 years old
THE GIESSBACH’S FUNICULAR RAILWAY ‒ THE OLDEST IN EUROPE
0 built
AND SAVED IN 1983: THE GRANDHOTEL GIESSBACH

La problématique

En 1874/75 au pied des célèbres chutes de Giessbach qui dominent le lac de Brienz, dans l’Oberland bernois, un Grandhotel au charme incomparable est construit dans ce lieu tout aussi unique. Son rayonnement s’étendra bien au-delà des frontières nationales.

Jusqu’à 1914 et la Première Guerre mondiale, les têtes couronnées et leurs suites, les hommes d’État, les diplomates et les artistes les plus fêtés défilent sans discontinuer au Giessbach, où ils reprennent des forces, forgent des plans et échangent les derniers ragots.

Deux guerres mondiales, leurs conséquences pour l’hôtellerie suisse et une nouvelle vision du tourisme font pâlir l’étoile du Giessbach. Après plusieurs années de déclin, l’établissement ferme ses portes en 1979. Une construction moderne en béton dans le style d’un chalet « jumbo » est alors prévue à sa place.

Notre projet

Le salut arrive à la dernière minute, en 1983. Franz Weber, protecteur de l’environnement, des animaux et du patrimoine, déjà très connu dans le monde entier, réussit l’impossible. Grâce à sa campagne de levée de fonds et à la création de la fondation « Giessbach au peuple suisse », il parvient à acquérir le domaine du Giessbach et ses 22 hectares de terrains pour les faire classer monument historique.

Son idée d’« offrir » le Giessbach au peuple suisse afin de le préserver suscite l’enthousiasme de la population. Pour financer les rénovations nécessaires et pour l’exploitation de l’hôtel, Franz Weber crée la société Parkhotel Giessbach AG et réouvre l’établissement en mai 1984 avec un nouveau restaurant, le « Parkrestaurant » et quelques chambres encore en attente de rénovation.

L’hôtel sera entièrement rénové au cours de plusieurs étapes et compte de nouveau aujourd’hui parmi les plus beaux et les plus renommés de l’industrie hôtelière suisse.

Nos objectifs

  • Conserver à jamais le Giessbach intact
  • Entretenir, préserver et embellir la nature unique
  • Promouvoir des manifestations culturelles
  • Ramener le parc dans son état historique

Faits et chiffres

* * *

0 mètres carrés
de forêt, prairies, jardins et milieux uniques pour les hommes et les animaux au Giessbach
0 ans
âge du funiculaire du Giessbach – le plus ancien d’europe
0 date de construction
et 1983, date du sauvetage du Grandhotel Giessbach